Good news for bacon lovers!

Perhaps Austen was onto something when she had Emma Woodhouse send Mrs. and Miss Bates a hindquarter of pork. One of my favorite lines belongs to Miss Bates as she exclaims to Emma, “What a happy porker it must have come from!” She then shrieks at her hearing-impaired mama, “PORK, Mother!”

This is Australian National Bacon Week, and it occurs to me that Ponce de Leon could have saved himself a great deal of time and expense spent searching for the Fountain of Youth. The secret to long life probably lolled happily in a mud hole on a nearby farm. (Hence the old saying, “Happy as a pig in slop.”)

It's BACON!

It’s BACON!

According to the Huffington Post, a 105-year-old Texas woman says the secret to her longevity is bacon. She became a widow at age 38, reared 7 children alone, and worked as everything from a cotton picker to a hay baler. I’m not surprised that she didn’t credit her long life to getting plenty of sleep.

“I love bacon. I eat it everyday,” Pearl Cantrell told NBC affiliate KRBC when asked her secret to living so long. “I don’t feel as old as I am. That’s all I can say.”

I admire this woman, a great-great-grandmother who still enjoys country dancing, waltzing, and two-stepping, and who kept mowing her own lawn until the age of 100.

When Oscar Mayer heard about Pearl’s love of cured pork, they sent one of its Wienermobiles to her home with a special bacon delivery. She rode “shot-bun” in the Wienermobile through her hometown.

I’m stopping short of advocating that our readers follow Mrs. Cantrell’s example. Most doctors would advise people to avoid the high-fat meat. Even so, I’m also not a person who thinks people should give up foods that they absolutely love. Perhaps moderation is the key?

7 thoughts on “Good news for bacon lovers!

  1. Susan Kaye

    Miss Pearl probably would tell you she IS being moderate in her consumption. “I only have three slices when I’d really like four.”

    Or do Texans call them rashers?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    According to Wikipedia (I know, I know), bacon is called “rashers” in New Zealand and Australia. I’ve driven through Texas, but I’ve never spent any significant time there, so I don’t know what they call it.

    I thought the same thing about the moderation aspect. One woman’s moderation is another lady’s indulgence.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye

      I’m all for bacon, but I’ve learned that it’s a trigger food for me. One strip is enough to send me on a binge of salty, fatty, meaty goodness that makes Henry VIII look like one of those restricted calorie types.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

