Cheating? There’s an app for that.

Marina Voinova was simply looking for an address on Yandex Panorama, Russia’s version of Google StreetView, when she found an eyeful of much more than she had bargained for.

Russia’s Life News reports that Voinova was looking for an address in Perm when she stumbled across a street shot of her fiancé kissing another woman. Yandex Panorama doesn’t blur the faces, so there was no question that her Sasha was cheating on her.

Ms. Voinova said, “When Sasha came home, I immediately called him to the computer and asked him to find that address in the map. When the image loaded, Sasha’s face changed in color. I looked in his eyes, waiting for an explanation.”

When he couldn’t provide an answer, Voinova dumped him, thank goodness. “At first I regretted searching for that address on the Internet,” Voinova said, “But I eventually realized that it was silly to blame the Web for my boyfriend’s unfaithfulness.” You think? The internet actually saved this woman from marrying a cheater. Let’s shoot the messenger.

According to the video, while Voinova avoids Yandex, Russia’s largest search engine, she has started using the internet for online dating.

My husband would say this.

My husband would say this.

Several questions come to mind. Was he in fact her fiancé, or was he her boyfriend? There is a big difference, though cheating should not be a part of either relationship. Why is she now avoiding Yandex? I would be permanently addicted after such an experience. And WHY is she now going the online dating route? It seems to me that there is more of a chance of getting a cheater by hooking up on the internet than there is by dating people you actually know.

In a related story, on August 30 in Japan, an Android smartphone app called Kare Log (“Boyfriend Log”) launched. Now girlfriends can track smartphone GPS data via PC as well as the phone’s remaining battery life and call history. If a boyfriend were cheating, the phone’s location and call history might reveal his deceit. Knowing the battery life could eliminate the “dead battery” excuse. So, guess what, Voinova? Good news! There’s an app for that.

6 thoughts on “Cheating? There’s an app for that.

  1. Susan Kaye

    This is all very human behavior. On both party’s parts. But this all kind of blows the notion that abiding love is built on trust. Or proves just that depending on how cynical you are.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I believe that love is based on trust, but I’m not stupid. If anything looks suspicious in my relationships or my daughters’ relationships, I check it out. I guess I qualify for cynical.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        My point is not when you catch Snookums snogging on the sidewalk you turn a blind eye. Bad moral behavior is not to be ignored. But an app to check their phone’s battery charge shrieks of insecurity. And having access to their history is the same. I’m sure the girl who wants it to keep track of her boyfriend would be incandescent with offense if he reciprocated. And would have a thousand excuses as to why it’s so unnecessary.

        Heck, I’ve told people I’ve had phone trouble just because I’m too tired to deal with regular conversation. That’s cheating of sorts, but if I found out they had a tracking device on me and confronted me I’d have to tell them the plain truth: Sometime I just don’t want to talk to you! OK?

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I included the app because I thought it was funny. I would never do that. However, I will check Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. I will also Google the name to see what comes up. Those are all public and up for grabs. I told my daughter’s boyfriend all that when I met him, and that I’d run a credit check on him if they get engaged. He was fine with it; he told me he’ll do the same when he’s a parent.

          I don’t make excuses about the phone. I check the caller ID, and I don’t answer if I don’t want to talk to the caller. They can leave a voicemail. If I answer a telemarketer by accident, I simply tell them that I’m busy and don’t want to talk. I consider telemarketing to be an invasion of my home.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    One good thing about this age of 24-7 online viewing and camera tracking, a person will perhaps be less inclined to pick his nose or scratch his bottom in public. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

