So this is Love? I think not.

Miss Elliot, guest contributor

Elizabeth Elliot, guest contributor

Today I’d like to share a few quotations that I can live without.

The topic: True Love. The source: an Internet poetry site.

Original thoughts from artistic minds.

Or … not.

Which of these speaks to you?

“You know you are truly in love when a simple touch or look brings a feeling of utter happiness over your body!”

Apparently, then, last night I fell in love with a strawberry cheesecake.

“They say ‘The person we love is a candle lighting our soul.’ If that is true, then you are the sun burning my soul.”

Ah, the scorched soul. This would be both painful and disfiguring.

“I believe that true love will last forever… if it doesn’t it just means there’s someone else out there who loves you more.”

So someone I’ve never met loves me more than someone I know? How … nice.

“True love dz not depend on d thgs uve shared but it depend on how much you sacrifieced 4 him/her….”

True love does depend on clear communication. Using English, not textspeak. (For instance, are we speaking of sharing ‘things’ here? Or ‘thugs’? Hm’m.)

True love is when you touch another’s soul just by being yourself.

But what if you are boorish? Or a selfish pig? Or a whiner? “Be Yourself” is not always a good idea.

“True love only comes once in a lifetime, so take it as it goes and enjoy every bit of it.”

In other words, I have one (1) chance of happiness. O happy thought!

“Love is true when it comes from the heart, not from the mouth.”

So silence is golden? Love means never having to say anything? Read on …

“True love is when when you can talk on the phone for hours…without saying one word. Except for the occasionally, I love you.”

It seems to me that to talk on the phone silently is to fall asleep!

“Love is true when there aren’t words to describe how you feel and actions never seem to be enough.”

Ha. That last bit sounds rather like a guilt trip.

“True love is letting go. True love is never letting your heart let go.”

Is this profound? Or profoundly contradictory?

“Only those lovers that can compromise with one another without feeling stressed are truly in love!”

So love means never having to say I’m stressed? (But alas, I so often am!)

“I thought I loved him, but he had to break my heart for me to know what true love really is.”

He’s gone, I’m alone, and it’s over. So much for True Love.

I don’t know about you, but I’d rather have the strawberry cheesecake!

So, dear reader, which of these quotations can you live without?

Elizabeth Elliot is filling in for Laura Hile who, having finished teaching,
is at large for the weekend.

5 thoughts on “So this is Love? I think not.

  1. lani2013

    Great list and analysis. I’ve always hated “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”
    So I walk around with all this hurt and anger we can’t apologize? Or I explode all over you?
    No thanks. Pass the cheesecake and hold the candles, Laura

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    landi2013 beat me to it. The entire time I was reading, I was thinking, “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.” I think love means saying you’re sorry when you mess up. Once a sibling apologized to my niece after hurting her, and she replied, “Sorry don’t mean nothin’.” She was right there, too. Hurting a person intentionally and then expecting the act to be covered by a quick apology is disingenuous. If you love them, try not to hurt them in the first place.

    Nice article, Laura. I’ve missed you.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    All the wise of man splashed on a blog for all to see. Depressing ain’t it? After 35 years I have come to the conclusion that there is no bumper sticker big enough to hold the truth. And considering the “truth” shifts from season to season, we can only hang on and stick with the basics.

    I like candles so I’ll keep them, and I’d like a strawberry rhubarb pie please.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gayle Mills

    I’ve always wondered about the proposition that you have to kiss a lot of frogs to find your prince. I mean, is there a minimum number? Or are we going to have to expend maximum effort? How safe is it on that lily pad anyway? I think it’s safe to assume that princes are usually found in castles — ones that they work hard to pay for.

    Welcome back, Laura. We had senior graduation today! When do you finish?

    Like

    Reply
  5. Susan Kaye

    I believe that true love will last forever… if it doesn’t it just means there’s someone else out there who loves you more.”

    I think every TV show I’ve watched with a serial killer or stalker has the antagonist saying this sort of thing to a picture of his next victim clutched in his sweaty, trembling hands.

    Now we know where Hollywood goes to get some of its more terrible dialog.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

