And then the tortoise and the hare got married.

Like most writers, I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on. I loved the Eight Little Peppers books, all of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s writings, Elsie Dinsmore, the Anne of Green Gables series, The Chronicles of Narnia, A Wrinkle in Time, and many other books. Children’s books are innocent, character-building, and imaginative, but sometimes they are life-changing – as in the case of Chicago native Molly Lipsitz. Reading a children’s book designed by her boyfriend turned out to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Jason Methner and Molly Lipsitz in TODAY.com

Jason Methner and Molly Lipsitz

TODAY.com reported that Jason Methner wanted his proposal to Lipsitz to be “creative,” “dramatic,” and surprising. His book, inspired by bunnies, Lipsitz’s favorite animal, was a tale of friendship between a tortoise and a hare which progressed like their own relationship. The illustrated book concluded with a marriage proposal.

After he finished the book, Methner devised a plan to launch his creation at the Harold Washington Library in downtown Chicago. He cleared the plan with library officials, who agreed on the condition that Methner would allow them to post photos of the event to their Facebook page, and he told his girlfriend they needed to stop by the library to view a friend’s book.

Methner took Lipsitz to the children’s section and pulled his book from a shelf, pretending he’d just seen it. She started reading it, and by the third page, had deducted that her boyfriend was up to something. At the end of the story when the tortoise proposes to the hare, Methner dropped to one knee and pulled out an engagement ring. Of course she said, “Yes!” Cue the photographers and social media.

“The book is a parable of our relationship,” Lipsitz told TODAY.com. “From when we met, a bit about our lives, and the things we did together. In the book he proposed to me, and then he proposed for real.”

Now, how sweet is that? This man thought of what would most appeal to his beloved, and he went to a great deal of trouble to give her a proposal she would never forget. Marriage to a man like that would be interesting. She’s a lucky girl.

If it doesn’t work out, I suppose he’ll write a sequel. However, in the tradition of Austen, I’m going to declare a happy ending and end this blog post.

8 thoughts on “And then the tortoise and the hare got married.

  1. Susan Kaye

    Being the dark cloud I am, and hearing women talk about their mates, I think this nice guy has set himself up for disaster. Where do you go from here? Up is the only acceptable answer for most women.

    I just head about “push presents.” Or “baby baubles” if you will. This is a gift you give the mother of your child for giving birth. I got news, Mom was not the main driver in that scenario and giving her a gift is redundant because she was just as glad to have the baby out and anyone!

    I’m wondering when people will go back to putting thought and effort into the MARRIAGE instead of all this keeping-up-with-the-jones’s when it comes to the run-up events.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    Bwahaha! I understand where you’re coming from, but I’m still a sucker for these types of proposals. Both of my daughters give unusual presents to the people they love. They would rather give their husbands or boyfriends a surprise trip for the two of them to hear the Trans-Siberian Orchestra or a snow-tubing outing than to pick out a new shirt and tie. I love it. The husband of one and boyfriend of the other must like it, because they’ve started doing the same type of thing for gifts. I imagine when/if my younger daughter receives a proposal, it will also be “different” and videoed. I’ll let you know if that happens. lol

    My older daughter made me a hand-bound book of her poetry, illustrated with pictures she took, for one Christmas present. The younger made me a set of angel wings constructed of rolled up children’s music for another Christmas. Oddly, I’m not as creative. I usually buy them what they want.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    I tried creative. For Valentine’s Day one year I gave hubby, daughter and son each a realistic heart like this one:
    gummy heart

    Only my daughter appreciated the joke. Sigh.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        That was the last creative endeavor on my part. I go with things I know they want and don’t freestyle anymore.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I don’t freestyle either. I take them shopping or give them money. For some things, we have a “date,” and I buy dinner and a movie. I usually give her boyfriend a “date” for the two of them.

          Like

          Reply
  4. Gayle Mills

    I’m hoping all of his sequels are stories of his adventures with his lucky bride. And Susan, I’m wondering how terrified your children were to open their next birthday gifts after you pulled off the heart caper. I mean, the birthing process gives you a GREAT deal of 3-D effects to work with. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

