Freedom from myself

I confess that I have 5,221 pins on Pinterest. You can see for yourself, if you’re so inclined. I have thirty-six boards on everything from Austen, getting organized, decorating ideas, wedding ideas, books, quotes, sports, music, teaching, grandchildren (in case I ever have any), and gardening, to movies, characters, saving money, and repairing things. Food alone takes six boards (sweets, cookies, cakes, crock pot recipes, favorite recipes, and beverages). Though I think I’ve used fewer than ten pins, I love the way that the site expands my imagination and thinking. I look at things differently because of some of the things I’ve pinned.

For instance, I am now on an organizing and decorating streak. I want freedom, folks. I want to be free from clutter, free from junk, free from old clothes, free from frumpy style, free from totally outdated decorating, and free from looking for things I know I have but I can’t find. When I can stand on the steps to my attic and fill two thirty-three gallon trashbags with junk to throw away without ever leaving the steps, I have too much stuff which I don’t need and won’t ever use.

Apartment living room

Apartment living room

I recently spent several days with my twenty-two year old daughter, shopping on a budget to redecorate her apartment over our garage, helping her paint, and enjoying our time together as we worked. She has inspired me.
Cozy corner

Cozy corner

Wall art

Wall art

Bedroom word art

Bedroom word art

I have thrown away at least one big trashbag of junk each week this summer, and I’m going to keep doing that until the “stuff” is gone. I donated two huge bags of clothing and shoes to The Closet yesterday, and I’ll hit the attic again today. If something is salvageable, but I no longer need or want it, I’ll give it away. I filled a third bag from my closet today, and I’ll take it to Christian services this week. The job would be too big if I tried to do it all at once, so I’m doing it in the same way I would eat an elephant – one bite at a time.

As the confusion disappears, my mind clears. I’m writing more prolifically and with more inspiration than I have in months. I am better satisfied with my surroundings, though I still have far to go. Before school starts (and both my daughter and I have new classrooms to ready), I want to clean and paint both porches, repot plants, paint my home office, and plant a few bushes.

July is the month of freedom when we celebrate Independence Day in the United States. I’m going to take the idea a little further than having a cookout. I’m going to declare my freedom from my hoarder tendencies and kill my packrat persona.

Who’s with me?

10 thoughts on “Freedom from myself

  1. Robin Helm Post author

    You just redecorated, and yours looks terrific. You’ve also cleaned out your attic, though you do have a good bit to do in Bet’s old room. Melanie is actually afraid to go in my attic. Ha!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    Every year is the same her, I want to drag everything out of the basement and the attic and the garage and sort. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Oh, Robin. This de-clutter thing is exactly what I need to do. Pinterest? I’ve stayed far away in fear. Fear of becoming Miss Sidetracked, along with Miss Hoarder of Images (my computer is witness). I am back from vacation, hiding from the heatwave (and my cluttered house) with a box fan. But I’m writing. Scared to do anything else, as I am apt to lose momentum.

    I so enjoy seeing your daughter’s taste in decorating. These younger girls have a fresh look at things. I am, alas, stuck in the Ye Olde Curiosity Shoppe antique look.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Hi, Laura! (Does a little, stupid-looking dance.) Pinterest doesn’t take much time. It’s not a time sucker like Facebook. Other people have usually done the work for you, and you just repin.

      That’s a nice thing to say about Melanie. That’s what I meant by she inspired me. She calls her taste “eclectic,” and I think she’s right. Actually, she said “eccentric,” but I told her the word she was searching for was “eclectic.” She liked that. She has a wonderful style – simple, uncluttered, bold, and eye-catching. I’m better at arranging things on the walls, though, and she freely admits that. All those years of doing Yearbooks taught me layout. Now that I know what she likes, I’m able to find things at Hobby Lobby and call her over. We like Target, too.

      I’m so glad you’re back, and I hope you had a good rest. I’ve missed you. ; )

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Robin, ANYTHING becomes a time sucker for me! I fear Facebook, because of all the friends I need to chat with. 😦

        I am working, yes indeed — Camp NaNoWriMo to the rescue — and plan to post on Beyond Austen as I go.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Oh, that’s exciting news! More Laura Hile to read! I’m into my second book of the Yours by Design series, Sincerely Yours.

          I don’t think I could do the Camp NaNoWriMo thing. The deadlines would kill me. Sometimes I write a paragraph a day, and sometimes I write 4 or 5,000 words. I’m doing well now, because there are no distractions here.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

