Darcy By Any Other Name

Women.482All righty, then, it’s summer and I’m writing. Hooray!

And I’ve begun posting my latest, a Pride and Prejudice what-if romp—my first! —and already it’s spinning well off its Austen axis. Ready for thrills, chills, and a fun summer read? Climb aboard, strap yourself in, and away we go. And for goodness’ sake, hold on!

Head over to the Beyond Austen website (Long Stories) to read more.

I will be posting at least once a week. Enjoy!

~~ Laura Hile

8 thoughts on “Darcy By Any Other Name

  1. Robin Helm

    I was so happy to see your post, Laura. Could you tell? I loved your first installment. There’s a body switch in my story, but I think yours is even more radical.

    I already want more!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile Post author

    I’ll make you a deal for the rest of the summer, dear Robin, since you are as desperate as I am to churn out a book. You post an installment of Yours By Design at Beyond Austen, and the very next day I’ll post up a chapter of Darcy By Any Other Name.

    A full installment, girlfriend. No fair posting yours a page at a time to get more of my story! πŸ™‚

    And when I’m out of town and am away from the web (for instance, I head for Montana next weekend for a wedding, very limited Internet), this deal won’t apply. Are you game?

    (I can make this deal with confidence, see, because I have the next three chapters fully outlined, thanks to Camp NaNoWriMo. After that, it gets dicey.)

    While I’d love to continue Mercy’s Embrace in a 4th and 5th volume, I still cannot identify the key element around which the story rotates. I’ll find it, never fear, but it will take time. In the meantime, this Darcy story came welling up, with favorite themes and tropes.

    Thanks for the props and … write on, sister!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Laura Hile Post author

        Uh-oh.

        Well okay, then, here we go! I might have to eat my words? Naw. I have the next chapter written (undergoing edits today), and the one after that fully outlined. So there. πŸ˜€

        Remember, I post one day after you do. (Even if it’s at midnight.) Game on!

        So worth it, this dare, because EVERYBODY WINS.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm

          My regular posting day is Tuesday, so that’s when you can look for my chapter. Be ready on Wednesdays, my dear. If you write far enough ahead, we can keep this going for several months. I have another book in the series to write after this one.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Laura Hile Post author

            Wednesdays it is.

            You have another book … and I have a demanding school schedule. Remember those seven guys who took my writing class two years ago? Five of them are back (as seniors) and are begging for an advanced-level class. So, there goes my two free periods… πŸ™‚

            Like

            Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

