Catvertising! Who knew?

“Because no one wants to see ads anymore. They want to see cat videos.”

Well, okay then. So how do we at JSI market our books using cats?

Problem: I don’t have cats these days, just writing students. Can THEY sell my books?

2013 students-1

Well, maybe. If I can get them to hold the books right side up!

2013 Students-2

And quit laughing! 🙂

2013 Students-3

(Goodness, it looks like these poor fellows can’t even read!)

Well, it was worth a try. The cat wins! Meow!cats-with-thumbs-cravendale-military-strategy

10 thoughts on “Catvertising! Who knew?

    1. Laura Hile Post author

      They were a great group of students, and I will miss them. “This is like herding cats,” is what I was thinking when we did the photo shoot in the library.

      The students from two years ago asked for—and got—a second year fiction writing class. So in the fall I will juggle two high school classes, in addition to 7th grade. Yikes!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Robin Helm

    I think Chloe videos could sell some books. I may actually try that when I publish the first book in the Yours by Design series. Maybe I can get all four granddogs in a video when my daughter, her husband, and their two pooches visit. They could be read The Guardian Trilogy and Accidentally Yours. I think I have a winner!

    The cat video idea rocks. Where do you come up with these videos?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      Desperation is the mother of discovery, Robin. As I’m way behind in doing my fair share on the blog, I went looking for “Cats” (for the Feline Literati series) and stumbled upon this video. What a find!

      And then I decided to post the photos of this year’s students doing their all to promote my books. I love these kids!

      But granddogs, you say? Now that is a concept loaded with potential, for dogs are more patient with costumes and props. How much fun you can have staging promo photos!

      Like this: Find a convertible, pile in with the dogs, smile, and hold up your book. Easy!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        I’ve got a better idea. We’ll have my daughter’s 1971 Corvette convertible, put her and my younger daughter in it with the four dogs, and let them hold it up. Now THAT’S easy.

        Like

        Reply
  2. Laura Hile Post author

    Wow!

    I’ve got an even better idea. Put me in the 1971 Corvette convertible with you and we drive away! On a girls’ road trip!

    It is a very good thing we don’t live within driving distance!

    What you describe sounds like a great promo. And once you get your daughters started on this, they’ll come up with even more ideas. Now you only have to finish writing the books …

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      I DO like the way you think. We are going to “babysit” the Corvette while my daughter and her husband are in Japan for two years. I think we’d look great in that baby, holding up OUR new books.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile Post author

        Babysitting that particular car, eh? Hoo boy, wait long enough, Mama, and the tables get turned very nicely, yes indeed. Be afraid, Mandy.

        For unless another son of mine gets married next summer, we’re DOING that road trip, Robin.

        Sing it with me, now: “And we’ll have fun fun fun until Daddy Mandy takes the T-Bird Corvette away!”

        Like

        Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    I watched a extra about shooting a video. It took over 50 takes because keeping four Golden Retriever puppies–arguably the cutest puppies in the world according to some–in a little read wagon was nigh on impossible.

    I’m with W. C. Fields, “Never work with children or animals.”

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      I loved the “in-house production” scenes in the Catvertising video with the uncooperative cats. One person did what I would … pushed the stupid cat’s head down! Ha, like that worked.

      W.C. Fields was one smart cookie. As young moms, we had no choice. Children and pets — for the homeschooling mom (I taught elementary grades) pets get guilted in as a so-called “science project”! — seem to come together. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

