Upon my honour!

Finger gauntlets

Finger gauntlets

Last week, our dearest Laura defiantly threw down a gauntlet before my True Balance sneakers, and today, I picked up said gauntlet.

For those of you unfamiliar with the metaphor, to “throw down the gauntlet” is to issue a challenge. A medieval knight would challenge a fellow knight (or enemy) to a duel by throwing one of his gauntlets on the ground. If the opponent picked up the gauntlet, he was accepting the challenge. The action is closely associated with the King’s Champion, an officer whose role was to act as champion for the King at his coronation if anyone challenged the new King’s title to the throne.

Gauntlets, c. 1614

Gauntlets, c. 1614

This morning, I posted chapter 18 of Yours by Design: Sincerely Yours, Book 2 on Beyond Austen. I expect an answer from Ms. Hile tomorrow.

In the epic Battle of the Darcys, let the games begin . . .

8 thoughts on “Upon my honour!

  1. Laura Hile

    Game on, Robin. I’m putting Chapter 2 into shape this morning. 🙂

    And after I get Chapter 3 squared away for next week (I’m traveling this weekend to Montana for a wedding), I will have the fun of loading your Yours By Design installments into a Word document and then emailing it to my Kindle. Vacation reading, yay!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    You are a worthy opponent. The really nice thing is that we can both win! And our readers win, too. Win-win-win!

    What is up at BAC is a WIP, and I have gone back and made some important changes to the plot. If you would like, I can e-mail you the updated version. I would actually prefer that so that I can get your opinion on what I’ve written so far.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Email away! I’m happy to oblige. I think I remember how to send Word documents to my Kindle …

      I was reading last year when you began—the first four chapters? —and then my schedule went wonky. *sigh*

      Like

      Reply
  3. Robin Helm Post author

    I’ll send it to you, then. There are some slight adjustments in those chapters that are important. That’s the value of putting a WIP on a forum. You can change what doesn’t work before you publish, and you get feedback from your readers.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      When I first ventured forth with fan fiction (1999! The early days of Internet communities), what you posted stayed that way—and I was both too shy and too reluctant to ask the webmistresses to repost. So…I wrote myself into corners…and then had to figure out how to write my way out. It was excellent training for a newbie writer.

      Nevertheless, I am very grateful that Beyond Austen offers an edit feature!

      Reader feedback is gratifying, but having a chapter “go live” is even better. For some reason this drives me to edit even more ruthlessly than for just myself. As you say, a win-win situation.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Robin Helm Post author

    Knowing that my Tuesday deadline is approaching motivates me to write. I don’t think I’d do nearly as well without it.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

