Heading Home…

AmtrakTrain This morning, as I climb aboard the northbound train for home, I say goodbye to the sunlit days of summer. (Yes, some rain is in the forecast this week.)

And yet I look back with with a sense of wonder.

During these thirteen weeks I’ve traveled, gained a daughter-in-law, and cranked out 20,000 words on the novel I was planning to write “someday” but feared I never would.

Now I find that the teacher in me is itchy for autumn, that season of new scholastic beginnings. Summer Break has done its work.

A rural autumn scene, David Hill Vineyard

An Oregon autumn scene, David Hill Vineyard

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of the water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.”
(John Lubbock)

How about you? Which is your favorite season?

Are you sorry to see summer go?

2 thoughts on “Heading Home…

  1. Susan Kaye

    I used to dislike love fall, endure winter, welcome spring, and absolutely despise summer. Now, things are shifting. I love fall but know that it leads to winter with the colds, storms and worry that I join to the season. Summer is becoming more enjoyable since I don’t have to layer up, fret over how much oil we use to heat the house, or deal with the grey that hangs around for weeks at a time.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

