Did you notice the date?

Stockbyte/Getty Images

Stockbyte/Getty Images

Friday, September 13th, 2013. I didn’t but I rarely notice Friday the 13ths. I’m not superstitious though I do believe there is more to the world than the material.

I’m not a paraskevidekatriaphobic, a person paralyzed by the number 13. I do notice when a building doesn’t number the 13th floor. On my 13th birthday I was visiting my allergist for the last time and asked my mom about the building not having a Floor 13. She explained it to me. I didn’t buy it then and I don’t buy it now.

I read an interesting article on About.com and there were lots of little tid bitty things about the date. I’m not cutting my nails today, or inviting 12 of my friends over to dine. 13 at dinner means someone within the year will die. The god Loki crashed a private dinner at  Valhalla, bringing the number of guests to 13. Predictably, it was a fiasco. Maybe that’s what Sir Walter had in mind when he mentioned Anne’s arrival in Bath was a good thing because it evened out the table.  There’s no sense waiting until you get up around ten or twelve to take care of that sort of thing.

From About:

Ships that set sail on a Friday will have bad luck, as in the tale of H.M.S. Friday. One hundred years ago, the British government sought to quell the longstanding superstition among seamen that setting sail on Fridays was unlucky. A special ship was commissioned and given the name “H.M.S. Friday.” They laid her keel on a Friday, launched her on a Friday, selected her crew on a Friday, and hired a man named Jim Friday to be her captain. To top it off, H.M.S. Friday embarked on her maiden voyage on a Friday — and was never seen or heard from again.”

Figures, government projects usually turn out this way.

Speaking of sailors, I just wonder if perhaps Louisa took her fall from the Cobb on a Friday? Probably not. Three naval officers would not likely have gone out of doors on Friday the 13th, much less messed about with lubbers on a windy day. Best to wait for a windy Tuesday.

I was relieved to know that whether I use Sue or Susan, I miss having 13 letters in my name by one. Not so lucky for Jack the Ripper, Charles Manson, Jeffery Dahmer or Albert De Salvo. Good to know.  Nature, nurture, or numbers may be a new field of criminal justice research.

Anyway, I’m going to throw caution to the wind and go about my business as if nothing is amiss. Because nothing is.

Have a great weekend.

Take care–Susan Kaye

 

 

2 thoughts on “Did you notice the date?

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

