Shopping this weekend — UPDATE

crown_jewelsNo, I won’t be shopping for jewels this weekend. I’m going shopping for a new-to-me dryer. Which, as someone who has, at times, been without a washer or dryer, is better than jewels.

I used to work with a woman who was adamant that gifts were to be luxurious and if possible, frivolous. Any sort of practical gift, particularly a kitchen appliance would be met with her special brand of disapproval. I on the other hand, love kitchen gadgets, household widgets I won’t ordinarily buy for myself, and just “stuff” that doesn’t meet the luxury goods standard.

When it comes to gift giving, I try to give something I know the person wants. Preferably something I’ve heard them express a desire for. I can’t do that when the only thing my kid wants is a car, or something similar. However, when it comes to as seen on TV merchandise, I can spring for a gewgaw or two.

So, how about you? Do you have a certain level of expectation? Or are you an anything goes sort of receiver? As a gift giver are you one or the other? And what is the best gift you’ve ever gotten?

The best gift I’ve ever gotten was an Oster all-in-one food processor, blender, stand mixer I got from my husband for Christmas a sew decades ago.Β  Definitely didn’t meet the standards of my friend. πŸ˜‰

Have a great weekend.

UPDATE–I thank God for used appliances and those who sell them. And exchange programs so I can get rid of my dead appliance without having to dismantle it. And DRY clothes!!!

Take care–Susan Kaye

8 thoughts on “Shopping this weekend — UPDATE

  1. Robin Helm

    Hmmm… Best gift ever? Mandy gave me a scrapbook of her poetry, handwritten and illustrated by her, and Mel made me a wallhanging of angel’s wings made from children’s music. Gayle gave me a set of Jane Austen’s books which are very old. God gave me my daughters. ; )

    Like

    Reply
  2. lani2013

    I think for me some of the best gifts are gifts of your time with me. As someone who suffers from depression, it is isolating and time with friends is the best antidote. That being said the best gift I ever received was the gift of my wedding. My DH and I met and married far from our home states. The tiny church we belonged to covered us in love. My maid of honor organized and did all of the worrying. I floated in a dream for two weeks. A matron of the church who owned a bakery gave us our cake. Friends of mine in a band did the music, and the pastor gave us the church for free as we were the first couple to meet and marry within the congregation. 17years later, I am still awed by their love and their gifts of time and talents.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I’m not chronically depressed, but I am prone to falling through the rabbit hole for weeks at a time. I’m glad some of the nonsense we create helps lighten the load.

      Your wedding sounds amazing. It’s wonderful when people step outside themselves for our sake. Spreading the joy works positively one everyone involved.

      Have a good weekend, lani.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Gayle Mills

    The older I get, the less importance I place on gifts. I value the time that I spend with the people I love. I had rather pay for a nice dinner where we can all sit and talk than spend money on a gift they probably won’t use. When people buy gifts for me, I appreciate them, but I think I appreciate the fact that they thought of me at all more than the actual gift.

    So if your hubby bought you a fantastic kitchen appliance, it was because he knew you well enough to know that you would enjoy using it. He was definitely thinking of you — and all the great food you’d prepare for him. Of course, you would be enjoying those treats together. So, again, that was a great gift.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I would rather have a well-balanced knife that I use every day making dinner than have a piece of jewelry or something romantic. The irony with Bill and I is that my all-in-one broke down and was destroyed long ago, but several Christmases ago I bought Bill a big Kitchen Aid stand mixer so he could make bread and marshmallows. We enjoy those together. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
    2. Susan Kaye Post author

      I too would rather pay for an experience with someone than try to figure out what to buy them.

      The irony about my all-in-one kitchen wonder is that it blew a gasket years ago and was left behind in a landfill when we came west. A few Christmases ago I bought Bill a Kitchen Aid stand mixer for bread and marshmallows. I’m wondering if there will be a pattern in our gift giving.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        My younger daughter gives special “dates, ” like taking her bf to the Trans Siberian Orchestra or snow tubing. She has received event dates like the Biltmore House and the Broadway production of “Les Miserables.” I think those are great ideas.

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

