Fifty is the new thirty?

According to a new survey done by Harris Interactive, the ideal age is fifty.

Vanessa Williams

Vanessa Williams

“Lots of people don’t have grandchildren by fifty so you’re not necessarily tied down babysitting,” psychologist Barbara Becker Holstein told The TODAY Show. ”Of course, given how slowly young people mature now, you may still be dealing with someone in their twenties who loves living at home.”

Lisa Kudrow

Lisa Kudrow

I would like to add that some people in their twenties live at home for reasons other than their maturity levels.

The results varied by geographical location, ranging in answers from forty-seven to fifty-three, and politics also played a part. The more conservative a person was, the more their perfect age went up. The more liberal people were, the more they correspondingly chose younger ages.

John Stamos

John Stamos

This past summer, the Center for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics reported twenty-three and sixty-four are the best ages. They concluded that happiness levels decline after the early twenties, pick up again in the mid-fifties, and fall again after seventy-five.

Johnny Depp

Johnny Depp


Celebrities who are or will be fifty this year include actress Vanessa Williams, designer Marc Jacobs, actor John Stamos, and “Friends” star Lisa Kudrow. Fifty-year-old Johnny Depp said, “It’s great fun growing old,” while director Quentin Tarantino, also fifty, bemoaned having to wear reading glasses.

I like my age, but I wish I physically felt and looked like I did at eighteen or twenty. How about you?

4 thoughts on “Fifty is the new thirty?

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Yep. I want to keep my knowledge and experience gained over 59 years of living, but I want to feel and look like I did in my early twenties. I want to have the energy and stamina more than I want to look different.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Laura Hile

    Fifty is absolutely the new thirty! In fact, I want to stay fifty (ha, I’m five years past that) for the rest of my life.

    In a twenty-year-old’s body, Robin, knowing what you know and with the emotional confidence you’ve gained through the years… can you imagine? You’d be both unstoppable and cute.

    Here’s a favorite quote from Dorothy L. Sayers:

    “Time and trouble will tame an advanced young woman, but an advanced old woman is uncontrollable by any earthly force.”

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

