I guess he really fell for her.

This is definitely “guy humor.” I don’t know if I’d marry him or not if his idea of a joke was scaring me to death. What might he think would be a good joke involving their children?

At least he didn’t do a zombie themed proposal or wedding.

This is love?

This is love?

When did proposals and weddings become the time to forget romance? I love creative, unexpected proposals, but there’s such a thing as too much fun at an inappropriate time.

If I die, please don’t throw me a Star Wars funeral.

13 thoughts on “I guess he really fell for her.

      1. Susan Kaye

        In the time it took him to scuttle off that bouncy house and back up on the roof, I’d be down the stairs and heading away from the party.

        That’s not to say I would not eventually accept him, but as you do sometimes with children, jokers need to be disciplined immediately and memorably so they DON’T DO IT AGAIN.

        Like

        Reply
          1. Susan Kaye

            Unfortunately, there seem to be two types of people when it comes to practical jokes: those who love them, and haters like me. I find few in between.

            Like

            Reply
            1. Robin Helm Post author

              I’m in the hater column. I rarely play jokes on other people, and I don’t like anything played on me which requires me to do more work.

              Like

            2. C. Allyn Pierson

              I dislike practical jokes because they are often made to embarrass and humiliate the recipient. My husbands family doesn’t do that-they are just little jokes among the family and definitely not malicious. But some practical jokers are sadists and their point is humiliation…things like putting blood on the back of a 13 year old’s skirt at school. Practical jokes are men functioning at a middle school level and there is meanness in it and often leads to bulling. Whenever you read about kids who have killed themselves because of bullying they have often done things that give fuel to all the bulliers and a weapon to use on a vulnerable. My response to a bullier (he liked my sister and in typical middle school male intellectual function wanted to get her attention). After he had done it several times giving my big bruises on my shins I gave him “the look” (look up motherhood for how to use “the look” and told him firmly to stop kicking me. So, of course he kicked me again, soooooooo….I pulled back my right foot and kicked him as hard as I could in my 4 in platform’s. I looked at him writhing on the floor in pain and said, “I told you not to kick me,”then went off to class. Need I say that he never kicked me again? Nowadays I probably would have been suspended for kicking him in the ridiculous world of school discipline.

              Many people who love to do practical jokes are malicious people who like to make others feel embarrassed or bad. I wonder if it is becoming more prominent…that might explain why there are so many nasty, sadistic bulliers who will bully someone until they kill themselves and then post on Facebook that they don’t care. I’m happy that in the current case in the news they have arrested the animals that bullied a sensitive 14 year old girl so much that she threw herself off a water tower and died. The sheriff involved is looking for charges against the parents because they say it’s all a lie and their kids didn’t do it and they don’t care. This is definitely an “apple not falling far from the tree” situation.

              Clearly, this topic hit a chord with me…sorry to take up the entire comment section! πŸ™‚

              Like

        1. C. Allyn Pierson

          Very true. Fortunately my husband’s family is not quite this…bizarre? And their tricks are only on the family members that think April Fool’s Day is fun. Unfortunately, my eldest fun, who is one of those, would try to trick his father every April 1 an EVERY SINGLE TIME the trick rebounded on me. My favorite was when he was in Boy Scouts and they were helping out at a lock in at the YMCA for the cub scouts. He was in 8th grade, so needed to be picked up at midnight. After taking to the Y my husband said, “Ill just sleep out here the couch until midnight so you are not awakened by my alarm. I said OK and took his alarm clock out and saw that it was already set for 11:45. When lied down on the couch he noticed the time set and thought, “Oh, Carey has already set the time for me…that’s nice!”

          Meanwhile, back in the master bedroom, I was just dozing off at about 10:30 and an alarm went off. It wasn’t on the nightstand, it wasn’t on the floor, it wasn’t any place I could see it. I finally tracked down the sound under the mattress, turned it off and climbed back in bed. Was just dozing off when another went off. My son had set 6 alarms to go off every fifteen minutes beginning at 10:30.

          When his dad picked him up at the Y and they were driving home, Greg casually asked if anything interesting happened whiled he was gone and his dad said no. He paused, then asked rather hesitantly if nothing unusual happened. At this point my husband knew something was up. Finally Greg asked, “Ummmmm, did any alarm clocks go off?” Answer: Well, just the one I took out into the family room where I was lying down until time to pick you up” The best part of this tale is Greg’s response: “Oh God, Mom’s gonna kill me!”

          He tried the clock trick again the next year (if you don’t succeed, etc.) but his dad had to go to an overnight meeting away from home, so Greg packed multiple travel clocks in his dad’s duffle bac. When queried the next day he said, “Oh, well I left my duffle in the bathroom so I guess I didn’t here it!”

          Now my favorite April Fools trick my MIL ever did (when my son was in high school) was bake a yellow cake with chocolate frosting, the cake made out of foam rubber and one piece cut out so the “cake” part could be seen. They had dinner and then his mom brought the cake to the table and offered my husband cake. He said, “No thanks, I’m full.” She asks him a couple more times and finally put some pressure on…of course he figured it out but she never did get him to take a piece of cake…and i really looked realistic, actually and I like chocolate frosting…

          I have been recruited to help on some like the clocks in the duffle bag because the kid was not home before my spouse left for his overnight meeting, but I try to maintain my neutral status. At least my family doesn’t do nasty embarrassing tricks- just good clean fun…and they TRY to not get me caught in their toils!

          If someone makes me think they are in mortal peril for fun, however, the game is over. Even with the bouncy thing he is not a professional stunt man, I assume, and could have been hurt…or someone could have pushed the bouncy thing out of the way to get their car into the space it was sitting in. My MIL enjoys April Fools jokes, but I think it is generally a guy thing…and they may have it!

          Like

          Reply
        2. C. Allyn Pierson

          I would be doing some seriously reconsidering the potential groom’s status as such. I am also not amused by grooms pushing cake into the face of their bride, who has spent thousands of dollars for a beautiful wedding and a beautiful bride.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Robin Helm Post author

            Thanks for your comments and stories! I really enjoyed reading about your family’s jokes on each other. None of those cause pain or make a big mess, so they fall into my “ok” category.

            I know that bullying is a problem, because I have been a teacher for 28 years. The things that bullies do are not jokes, and they aren’t funny. I don’t allow anyone to pick on anyone else in my classrooms.

            I’ve never cared for the cake smooshing myself. My husband and I fed each other cake, but neither of us had to wear it for the rest of the day.

            Like

            Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

