My Fatal Mistake – The Mortal Instruments

I have made a terrible mistake. I started reading The Mortal Instruments series, and I can’t put it down.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments
by Cassandra Clare

This fantasy world of Downworlders (werewolves, vampires, demons, warlocks, and fairies), Shadowhunters (human demon killers), and mundanes (regular humans) has captured my imagination. I am almost as fascinated with this series as I was with The Twilight Saga. Warning: this series is not as conservative as The Twilight Saga. It’s more liberal in philosophy and theology.Mortal Instruments movie The series has been endorsed by Stephanie Meyer, and to my satisfaction, Clare is a better writer than is Meyer. Meyer excels in storytelling, but her writing style is too modern for the English teacher in me. Clare doesn’t write narrative in fragments; she saves that for dialog.

Sadly, I already had too many distractions interfering with my concentration in writing, and this isn’t helping me right now. I just have to finish reading, and I’ll be fine. At one book a day, I should be through on Wednesday. I’m practically inhaling them.

I really liked the first movie, The Mortal Instruments City of Bones, and I’m glad to hear that the second movie in the series has resumed production and should be out next year.

8 thoughts on “My Fatal Mistake – The Mortal Instruments

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      We are kindred spirits, it seems. I was surprised that the first movie didn’t do very well, considering that the books are best sellers.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Maria Grazia

    Glad to hear I’m not alone! These books got me hooked for a couple of weeks last January! Once I started I couldn’t stop and I read them all. Great series. I also read the prequel trilogy, The Infernal Devices, and I’m looking forward to book 6, City of Heavenly Fire, too.
    I too liked the movie and was so sorry it didn’t do well in theatres. Now I’m glad they decided to shoot City of Ashes anyway. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm.( I reviewed both City of Bones the book and the movie as well as the prequel trilogy at FLY HIGH!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Oh, no! There’s a prequel series? Ha! I’m really cooked now.

      I’ll have to check out your reviews. Thanks for posting!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That sounds very interesting, Stephanie. I’ll have to check it out. I’m a real sci-fi geek, and I love fantasy, too.

      Like

      Reply
  2. C. Allyn Pierson

    Not familiar with this series…what is the premise and what are the characters trying to do. Just from what you’ve said it is clearly a perilous proposition…I will check out your reviews, Maria Grazie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      The premise is that there are worlds and beings around us that we either can’t see at all or can’t see for what they really are. The books are not Christian. They are fantasy romance along the lines of Twilight, but with many more variant types than just werewolves and vampires. There are angels, faeries, warlocks, demons, shadowhunters, and variations of those beings. Some are more powerful than others. Some have special gifts. It’s very much good versus evil, though some of the good guys are not really good.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

