Is romance dead?

Last week, rapper Kanye West proposed to Kim Kardashian, his girlfriend and the mother of his child (North West – really), by renting out the entire San Francisco Giants stadium and using the scoreboard to say, “PLEEEASE MARRY MEEE!!!” Again, I’m completely serious.

The Perjured Proposal

The Perjured Proposal

In a move which is truly ridiculous, they are suing Chad Hurley, their videographer, for posting the video of Kanye’s proposal on the internet. Guess why? “Hurley proceeded to try to turn the event into one starring himself, broadcasting the images he knew were the exclusive property rights of someone else.” That’s what they said. I couldn’t make this stuff up.

Kim's instagram post "Yes!!!!"

Kim’s instagram post
“Yes!!!”

So it was a private event, meant to be exploited only by Kim and Kanye? That would appear to be the case, especially in view of the fact that Kim publicized it immediately.

Kim posted this picture on her instagram herself, with the caption, “YES!!!” just after the big event at AT&T Park.

I don’t think romance is dead, but it is certainly sick or injured. Maybe it just has the flu. I can only hope that it recovers quickly, but then, I’m a hopeless romantic.

I wanted to tag this “Marrying Well for Fun and Profit,” but that’s Laura Hile’s domain.

4 thoughts on “Is romance dead?

  1. C. Allyn Pierson

    Romance has become a Hollywood spectacular with each proposer trying to one-up the one before. I found the entire KW KK proposal extravaganza to be both cheesy to the point of nausea and perfectly predictable. Unfortunately, as long as there are people who are interested in these things (I don’t think I want to stretch the definition of the word “people” to cover them) they will continue do it. I have been seeing the Decline and Fall of the Western Empire for several years as the modern version of bread and circuses plays out every night on “reality” television…not that I have actually seen any of them…just seeing the ads in magazines and during sporting events in the football season (the only TV I ever watch) are so repulsive that my spouse and I just look at each and say, “OOOOKKKKAAAAYYYYY. Sure going to drop everything to see that show!” Personally, I want nothing to do with it. A quiet proposal in an elegant restaurant was quite wonderful enough for me…nor did my fiance break out the champagne for the entire restaurant, set up a flash mob, or arrange for the waiters to render the Hawaiian Wedding Song, or other appropriate tune offkey. After I said yes we held hands and ate our prime rib and a glass of wine and were very happy. Note: We are also still married after 31 1/2 years.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I love your post, C., and I agree with every word. I really can’t stand reality shows. My family and I were filmed for a segment of a reality show about six years ago, and I was able to see first-hand that those shows are nothing about reality. Everything is set up, and multiple takes are filmed. Yes, they like spontaneous moments, but if they don’t like the way it really happened, they’ll stage it and make you do it over and over again. I have been very thankful that the show was canceled the week before our episode was to air. I can guarantee you that the edited version would have been nothing like the actual events.

      Like

      Reply
      1. C. Allyn Pierson

        Sounds horrifying, but educational! Lucky you dodged the bullet…I suspect that you were probably too normal to get good ratings! Maybe we should do a reality show about writers…they can film us while we sit at our computers or look up historical facts in books…it would probably be a sure cure for insomnia and we would all be very productive…who wants to be captured on film reading a romance novel when we should be writing our own!

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          The show was about beauty pageants. My younger daughter had never been in one, and she wanted the experience, so she entered a small, local pageant. TLC was there looking for people for their show, and they approached us after it was over. We agreed to do it, but the other episodes had already been shot, so they came before ours. Fortunately, the low ratings shut the show down. We spent a couple of months filming for nothing except the knowledge that we would never do it again. The producers had actually decided to do the show around my daughter after they saw her film. They wanted to take her through local, state, and national pageants. We have neither the time, the money, nor the patience for that. She also refused to say what they wanted her to say, which perplexed them. For instance, she would not say that another girl deserved to win as much as she did. She wouldn’t say that she disliked anyone. She wouldn’t put anyone else down. It was funny watching them trying to get her to say those things. My fear was that they would edit in such a way as to get what they wanted.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

