Thank You

Today is a day set aside in the United States to honor our veterans. Our own Susan Kaye is a veteran, as is my daughter.

My  daughter and her husband with  Rocko and Kess.

My daughter and her husband with Rocko

My son-in-law was recently promoted to Major, and my daughter (a Navy veteran) was there to participate in his promotion, along with his pup, Rocko.

We are enjoying having them in the States for a few months before they leave for Japan. While we will certainly miss them for those three years, we are very proud of them and their service to our country.

My family has a long history of military service. Gayle and I are direct descendants of men who fought in the American Revolution, the War of 1812, and the Civil War. Our uncles fought in the World Wars, and our relatives were in Korea and Vietnam. Our brothers served in the National Guard and the Army during the Vietnam era.

The ladies of Jane Started It extend our appreciation for the sacrifices of our military, past and present. Tell us about your past service or the veterans in your family.

4 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. Susan Kaye

    I served during peace time, keeping all the gears in the colossus greased and whirring so that it could charge into action on a moment’s notice. I didn’t go to any foreign countries but I did paint a lot of walls and inventory a lot of tools. That’s okay since I did get a husband out of the 4-year deal.

    And I’ve still got him.

    To our military readers, thank you for your service.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      My daughter also got her husband out of the deal – and they both are quite happy with the arrangement. He’s been deployed to Iraq once and Afghanistan twice. Japan will be a forward deployment.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sophia Rose

    What a wonderful post, Robin! Thanks for sharing about your family’s military heritage. I have a similar ancestral heritage and it is my brother and cousin who continue this generation’s service personnel. I am thankful for all those who served and are serving.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thank you, Sophia Rose, for sharing with us.

      Sometimes it seems to me that we get so caught up with other things that the most important things go unnoticed.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

