But that was last year…

266665205_477c16ab94_zI spent the last full week of 2013 in Idaho with my mom. I was fortunate my husband was able to take vacation and join me. We rode the bus from Portland to Spokane. This is proof of my husband’s love because he absolutely hates buses, private or public.

The trip to was uneventful, (phew) and we settled in for Christmas.

Christmas came and went. The 26th dawned cold and painful. Not to be too graphic but the first thing I found around five AM was that I was the recipient of a UTI. Click the link if you’re not familiar with this condition but it’s painful and annoying to the nth degree. I wound up drinking about two gallons of water before noon and feeling like a dish rag by the end of the day.

The 27th dawned cold and I found the UTI was gone. Yay for me. Everything went well and we boarded the bus on the 30th to come home. Without bogging things down too much, I’ll just tell you that a 6.5 hour bus ride turned into a 12 hour lesson in patience.

All of this to say that the day after Christmas I was wondering what else could go wrong. Now I know.

Last night, Bill and I stayed up until midnight. We don’t usually do that, but what the heck. We watched a few of the illegal fireworks the neighbors set off, drank a toast to the new year, and set a few goals.

The lesson is, the arbitrariness of time makes it possible for me to look at the last few days of unexpected illness and stymied plans and file them under the heading of events from the previous year. Yeah, it’s a trick of the mind, but it helps me move along and get to the business of living the next year well.

What are you leaving in the rear view mirror of 2013?

13 thoughts on “But that was last year…

  1. Gayle Mills

    UTI — three of the scariest letters in the alphabet. I feel your pain. So glad you’re better. So glad you’re home safely. So glad you’re feeling a new energy in a new year. Happy writing!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    I’m eager to leave behind my mom’s struggle with a broken kneecap and subsequent rehabilitation. She’s doing splendidly now, to everyone’s relief.

    I’m sorry to learn of your UTI troubles, Susan. Onward to better health in 2014! I will make another set of attempts to visit the gym weekday mornings… ugh. But you are so right, feeling well is wonderful, and something we take for granted too easily.

    Like

    Reply
  3. C Allyn Pierson

    You and The Beast must have been communing…he has a UTI too. I have never seen a Newfoundland press his lips together tightly so you can’t put a pill in. My husband tried to help, but even two of us couldn’t do it and my DH was leaving that day for a mission trip. Finally called the vet and got an injectable antibiotic…whew! Much easier, although giving an injection through 8 inches of dense fur is a new experience for me! Hope you feel better soon!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Diana John Oaks

    I hate UTI’s too. At the first hint, I chug water, take encapsulated cranberry and drink Uva Ursi tea. Getting rid of it with just water is something akin to a Christmas miracle!
    2013 has many things I’m happy to see in the rear-view mirror. My father’s decline and death, my mother’s multiple falls and injuries/surgeries, and the deaths of several other loved ones. My own fall that cracked a rib, followed by a hip injury soon after the rib had healed. With lack of exercise and stress, I also re-gained some of the weight I had worked so hard to lose. Into every life, a little rain must fall (so they say) and I am hoping that 2014 will offer some respite from the storm that was 2013. I can’t give up 2013 though – with 2 grandchildren born last year, the joy has certainly outweighed the sorrow.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I’m a great healer so that is good. It has returned, but after all that time on the bus, I’d rather have UTI than Deep Vein Thrombosis.

      I’m sorry that 2013 was so wildly hurtful for you, Diana. Though, it’s amazing how healing babies can be.

      All the best in 2014.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Meredith (Austenesque Reviews)

    Oh my sympathies, Susan! I’m very prone to UTi’s and have had nightmare experiences with them! Thankfully, I’m on an antibiotic now that prevents them! Sorry to hear its returned too! Hopefully you feel better soon and have a happier start to 2014 once this is behind you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      As I said to someone else, I’m a good healer–most people think it’s my finest quality–and so when I hit the water hard, it seems to wash out quickly.

      I think I need to be up and moving more.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Robin Helm

    Sad to say, I learned when I was very young not to look forward to anything too much. That way, I could be thrilled if it turned out well and not too depressed if it didn’t.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I look back for forensic purposes only. When I re-examine and find nothing of use, back the memories go into the box.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

