Tribute To Toby

I should be very happy today. My new book, Accidentally Yours, the first book in my Yours by Design series, is live on Kindle today. I should receive the print proof tomorrow, and I don’t expect any problems with it, so after I correct a few minor errors which the wonderful and talented Wendi Sotis (author of Promises, Dreams and Expectations, All Hallow’s Eve, and The Gypsy Blessing) found while formatting Kindle for me, I’ll accept the proof online and we’ll have a book launch with a giveaway here on Jane Started it.

Toby

Toby

However, I cannot be cheerful. Our beloved Yorkie Poo, Toby, who has been with us for nine years, is in the veterinarian’s office with pancreatitis. I never thought I would be one of those ladies who loves a house dog, but I am. He won my heart, and it’s going to be hard to let him go. The doctor will try to save him, but I’ve already researched this, and I think that rather than let him suffer, we’ll have to have him put to sleep.

He isn’t Snoopy, Lassie, Beethoven, Benji, Eddie, Old Yeller, or Petey. There was no TV show or movie about him, but he is famous in his own way. He often went to the pre-school at our church with my husband and visited the children, and he’s come to my school programs. Larry took him kayaking often; Toby sat in a basket on the boat. When he was a puppy, Larry took him bike riding in a basket nearly every week. He made us laugh, fighting the seat belt in the car as Larry fastened it. Toby thought the belt was attacking Larry, and he was his master’s defender. I liked having Toby home with me, because he always let me know if anyone was at the door. He is gentle, loving, friendly, and obedient, and he never wanted anything but to be loved. He has never hurt anyone in his short life.

I checked on him at two o’clock last night. He had been vomiting, so we put him in his cage instead of letting him sleep with us. Usually, he barks when he’s in the cage, but not last night. He just sat there with his big, sad, beautiful eyes and looked at me. My heart is breaking.

10 thoughts on “Tribute To Toby

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Annette. We just don’t want him to suffer, and this condition is very painful. At the same time, we had many years of happiness with Toby. We have never before had a pet we loved as much as we do Toby.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Susan Kaye

    I’m sorry to hear about Toby. I’m not particularly tender-hearted but do understand when the emotional waters are churning. I’ll be praying that Toby is up and around soon.

    About your new book, I’m waiting for the print edition and then will buy.

    Support the authors you like!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Susan. I appreciate your prayers.

      If you buy the print edition, the Kindle will be free. I was given that option, so I signed up for it. I want readers who pay the print price to have the Kindle at no extra charge.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        I think was smart on your part, Robin. I think the Big Pubs will have to do this as well when they see the success. The importance of reader goodwill is going to dawn on them one day. Hopefully it happens soon before they crumble into a steamin’ heap-o-brick.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I agree. People may want to have a printed copy to hold, but they want the story to be mobile – on their phones on Kindles. Additionally, some people have already run out of room for print books, and they aren’t buying them anymore.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    Oh, Robin, I am so sorry to hear about Toby. What you wrote made me want to love him too. And I am not a dog person.

    Could you perhaps jot down memories of Toby’s lovable antics, and then work him into one of your future novels? Because he’s a grand little fellow. I’m thinking one of your staid and steady lead characters needs to be surprised, as you were, by dog love. (Barbara Cornthwaite’s Mr Knightely and his cat come to mind…)

    I bought the Kindle version of Accidentally Yours today. So one of those clicks on the sales rank is me!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I think you have a wonderful idea, Laura. I told my husband about it, and he liked the idea. It’s a wonderful way to humanize a character who may not be very likeable.

      Thanks for buying Accidentally Yours. I worked very hard on it, especially the final edits. With Guardian, I was so excited to have it published that I rushed it a bit. I wanted this series to be as close to perfect as I could get it. It’s different from the online version in many ways.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Janet Taylor

    I’m sorry to hear about your little Toby. I wish that he could be better. He looks like my little Chloe and I love her so very much. They do weave their way into our hearts and lives and make their place known! Once there, it is impossible to think of it being any other way.

    Congratulations on your new release. I will look for it!

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

