Mr. Woodhouse Had the Right Idea

I know that most of you Northerners don’t understand why we Southerners make such a big deal about snow. These pictures of my yard will make you laugh (and that’s not a bad thing).

My front yard

My front yard

We call off school and church because we hardly ever drive in the stuff, and this time, it’s ice. We don’t have snow tires or chains on our vehicles. Even snow birds are having wrecks trying to drive on the icy roads.

Our children don’t have the heavy outerwear that people up north buy, so putting them outside to wait for school buses that may not start due to the low temperatures is unwise (and a legal liability).

Side yard and driveway

Side yard and driveway

Before you giggle too much at us, remember how upset Mr. Woodhouse became over that light snow while they were at a party at Randalls. I’m of the opinion that he must have been a Southerner at heart. I’m sure that Hartfield was well-stocked with bread and milk. The stores here empty of those two items at the first weather report of the white flakes.

Mr. Woodhouse

Mr. Woodhouse

Days like this come around about every five years down here, so we stay inside, have a hot beverage (as Sheldon would say – and it’s not optional), read (Austen or a variation), or watch movies (more Austen!). We wear our pajamas all day and eat soup. My beef and vegetable creation is cooking as I type this.

One really nice thing about snow down South is that it doesn’t last long. This will all be gone in a day or two, and the temperature will be back up to 50 degrees. Meanwhile, I’m going to enjoy myself on this rare, free day with my family. What are you doing today?

17 thoughts on “Mr. Woodhouse Had the Right Idea

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I shiver when I say, “Oregon.” We visited Michigan in February one year. They said the snow had been on the ground since October. It never thaws until spring.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        This part of Oregon is really quite mild, Robin. Our winter temperatures are probably very similar to yours (except at higher elevations here where we have snow). What we have in the Portland merto area is drizzle. Yes, overcast skies for weeks at a time. For some reason, we have not had nearly as much rain. Weird.

        Like

        Reply
  1. Wendi Sotis

    That sounds a lot better than what happened with this storm in Atlanta! Those poor people.

    I’m a New Yorker, but since I avoid driving in snow, I won’t laugh. I sure wish we’d have 50 degree weather in a couple of days πŸ˜‰

    Off I go to join you in having some hot soup, though mine’s from a can.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That was terrible about Atlanta. There were quite a few accidents around here, too. There are very few places or appointments that are important enough to risk your life over.

      Like

      Reply
  2. tgruy

    I am going to wish for a cold day, I don’t even want snow or anything, just to be able to wear my long sleeved blouses instead of wanting to turn on the A/C, drink really cold beverages and salads and stay out of the sun.

    That’s not so much to ask, is it? After all we are supposed to be in winter.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      My goodness! Do you live in Florida or the tropics? I remember those Fort Lauderdale days. We never needed more than a light sweater.

      Like

      Reply
  3. C Allyn Pierson

    This also give those of us in the Midwest a chance to whine about how we have REAL cold! When I got up every morning this week the temp was -10. Today it moved up to +33 (Woohoo!!). Last night, the 4th time I climbed into my car for the day and my hands started burning from the cold (even in ski gloves the size of hams) I told my DH that I was going to turn my car until the compass said “S” and keep driving until I started to sweat! Unfortunately, this week that would probably mean driving all the way to Honduras! 😦

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      There isn’t much sweating going on in North America right now. A Caribbean cruise sounds good, though. I don’t think I could ever live in a climate as cold as the one you’re describing. I hate wearing coats, though I’ve had to wear one this week.

      I feel your pain.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      I saw the photo on Facebook of your snow beast. Wow, poor fellow! Or poor you, having to scrape off the snow and dry him off. I’ll put in the html coding and see if the photo will display. Hm’m. No luck.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Laura Hile

          Ha, I meant C Allyn Pierson’s giant of a Newfoundland, all covered with snow … and heading into the house.

          Too bad I couldn’t get the Facebook photo to display. No wonder you were confused. Mel isn’t a beast. Although I don’t know. At two …
          πŸ™‚

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

