Pride and Precedence: Selective Hearing

A continuing series by Persuasion’s Mary Musgrove

GiovanniBoldiniAfternoonStroll-MM2

“Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”

This is a home truth that everyone knows. A person close to you deserves your forgiveness…without having to apologize all over the place.

But when I remind people of this saying—a thing both humbling and annoying—they goggle at me as if I were a crazy woman.

I am not a crazy woman.

And I should not have to apologize for trifling offenses. Especially when those offenses are unintentional and, in so many cases, entirely imaginary.

People are too sensitive. It takes strength of character to speak the honest truth. Can I help it if I am a woman of character? See here, if my neighbor is wearing a hideous shade of orange, making her look 20 pounds heavier, wouldn’t she like to know? Or should I say nothing and let everyone assume she’s pregnant? I am only trying to prevent gossip.

They take things the wrong way. I get no credit for the work I do to organize and direct people’s lives. If they only followed my insightful advice, their lives would be so much better! Can I help it if I am a natural leader? Is it my fault that most people are dull-witted and stupid and have No Taste?

1Indiv724People hear what they wish to hear. They focus on part of a sentence, or on one particular word. It’s as if they deliberately misunderstand what I say. Sometimes I think taking pains to be tactful is a waste of time. And I’ll have you know that I am very tactful, always.

And they make a big deal about expressions. Can I help it if I sigh more loudly than other people? Or swat at a gnat that no one else notices? Or flip a stray lock of hair? Or have a sudden desire to examine the ceiling?

Motive the most important thing. This is what our mothers have told us since we were tots: It’s all about Motive. Bless me, doesn’t anyone understand this? If I did not intend to hurt your feelings, then I didn’t. End of discussion.

Love you, mean it, let’s do lunch.

Most cordially,

Mary Elliot Musgrove
Daughter of Sir Walter Elliot, Bart.
Future Mistress of Uppercross

Quotation is from Love Story by Erich Segal

Mary’s “portrait” is Afternoon Stroll by Giovanni Boldini

6 thoughts on “Pride and Precedence: Selective Hearing

  1. Laura Hile Post author

    See, the two of you are in perfect agreement — why not, indeed.

    And she doesn’t see why Papa Musgrove won’t make her a larger allowance, either. It’s not like he has anything to spend his money on. He’s practically an old man!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      “Crazy” is a term involving one’s own interpretation, is it not?

      Besides, Mary was packed off to school when she was young, and when she was home her bedridden mother saw little of her. It would have been up to Anne (who saw to everything her mother could not), or Sir Walter to order the testing. Somehow I don’t think either one would be enthusiastic.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

