Let’s Get Happy!

The official video for Pharrell Williams’s Despicable Me 2 soundtrack song, “Happy,” is a 24-hour-long interactive music experience set to his upbeat track featuring special guests Odd Future, Magic Johnson, Steve Carrell, Jamie Foxx, Kelly Osbourne, Jimmy Kimmel and more, but that’s not the best video out there.

Minions, anyone?

Minions, anyone?

Visible Men Academy, a free K-8 public charter school for boys in Bradenton, Florida, did their own video, showing their little boys breaking out, dancing, and being happy to the song. Had a tough day, month, or year? Watch the video. If you aren’t smiling by the end of it, I’ll send you a free book.

I teach music five days a week and play in a band on Sundays. My Thursdays and Fridays are filled with elementary children dancing and singing their way into my heart. I’m so thankful that my mom was willing to work to pay for my music lessons. Most of my childhood and teenage activities were fun, but the days when I could cheer or play basketball are over. Music will always give me joy. While I have breath, I will keep playing music.

In fact, I think Austen’s emphasis on music may have been one of the reasons I loved her books so well. I would enjoy an evening of people playing and singing for entertainment. Turn off that TV and get happy!

6 thoughts on “Let’s Get Happy!

  1. Laura Hile

    My school computer needs a flash player upgrade (or something)—meaning that the system admin must come round and do this for every desktop, like that’s going to happen soon. So I can’t see the video. Yet.

    At our house, we love the minions.

    As to music, my grandmother (born 1898) told me about parties when she was young. In those days everybody played an instrument, even poorly, for how else would a family have music? She played the violin. And in those pre-WWI evenings, friends would gather, the furniture would be pushed back and rugs rolled up. And they’d take turns playing in an impromptu band while the rest danced. “What fun we had,” she said, with eyes sparkling.

    What fun I’ve missed. Ah well, each era has its special entertainments.

    Still, I wish I’d pushed ahead with piano lessons. Music did not come naturally to me, and at that young age I did not want to take the trouble to practice.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’ve never heard anyone say that they wished they hadn’t taken piano lessons (or music lessons), but I’ve heard many people say they wished they had. I’ve heard plenty say they wished they hadn’t quit, too.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I play the flute, and while I’m reading one note at a time doing that, one note might take all ten fingers. I also have to control my mouth position and breathing, so, in their own way, orchestral instruments are as difficult to play well as is the piano or organ.

          Like

          Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That’s such a sweet thing to say! Children nearly always respond to music. They dance and say – and most of them don’t know or care whether they are doing it well or not. They also don’t grade me on my dancing, singing, and playing. What’s not to love about that?

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

