Is Your Subconscious Mind Setting You Up for Failure?

Read this. Especially the part about being overwhelmed. That’s me these days.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Image courtesy of Cellar Door Films WANA Commons Image courtesy of Cellar Door Films WANA Commons

In my last post we discussed striving to find balance and giving ourselves permission to be imperfect. This brought about some interesting discussion and I’d like to expound. I confess. Americans are notorious for “shortening” the language.

We use a lot of words as synonyms when, truth be told, they aren’t. Or we have “blanket words” which mask truth, thus prevent us from making progress in life, with relationships, our career or even ourselves.

As writers, we of all people should appreciate the power of words. We have the ability to create entire new worlds that could possibly endure hundreds or thousands of years…all by using various combinations of symbols. Words have creative and destructive power. This is true in non-fiction, fiction and in life.

When I began college, I was on scholarship to become a doctor, thus spent over three years…

View original post 2,797 more words

7 thoughts on “Is Your Subconscious Mind Setting You Up for Failure?

    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I really dislike the positive mental attitude industry lifestyle and the industry that goes with it. However, as she pointed out, the mind doesn’t know the difference between a lie and the truth. The truth is, we all are so much more capable than we think, and we have to talk ourselves into it.

      Great, another thing for my To Do list.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      The further away from your initial infatuation with writing, the tougher it gets. It’s like marriage. You start out with puppy love and the ooey gooey that goes with it. As time goes by you start humming When I’m sixty-four.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      That battle you had with Facebook was emotional, and those kinds of things exact a price. For me, discouragement. How easily I lose heart.

      Self-talk is important. So is carrying on even when you’ve lost the swing of momentum. I will be churning out a chapter this weekend, Robin. If we stick with it long enough, ideas come. But the getting started part can be a rough go.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        I agree that positive self-talk is huge, and I’ve been chattering away to myself this week. I also avoided talking about it to friends and co-workers once I posted it on FB as a warning to others. I knew that the Amazon/Facebook debacle had discouraged me, and that if I gave into it, the naysayers would win. I’m half finished with this week’s chapter, and I’ll finish it this weekend. Finishing the books and publishing them is the best revenge. At some point, I may decide to stop writing, but it will be because it’s what I want to do – not because of criticism.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Laura Hile

          Good girl, Robin. The best defense is a confident advance. Believe me, I have wanted to quit writing many times—ha, as you have seen! Mostly because it’s hard work and I’ve set the bar awfully high for myself. Then too, the Austen character I have chosen to love is shunned by most. Nobody wants to read about Elizabeth Elliot, wah!

          So I scuttle away and hide in my hole. But later I return and resume writing.

          The Amazon issue you mention is deeply disquieting, and I tread more warily on Facebook.

          On the other hand, I have discovered a FB group of writers whose company you might enjoy: Jeff Goins’ My 500 Words. January is long gone, but we’re still hanging out, encouraging one another to write every day. Jeff is a follower of Christ, and so are many of those who have collected around him.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

