Why People HATE Word

WORDThere are many reasons why people hate Microsoft Word.

My reason today: its tendency to change your settings unbidden, and then refuse to change them back.

As I was approaching the end of my 500 word writing routine, Word decided it needed to start putting 8 points of space after each paragraph when I had foolishly set it for none.

No amount of changing to 0pt will change it.

It’s the little things that make us crazy.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!

15 thoughts on “Why People HATE Word

  1. Wendi Sotis

    Been there, done that, and it took me a while to figure that out! Try this, Susan.

    Under Editing – Select / Select all
    On the Home tab, click on the little arrow beneath and to the right of the backward P
    Under spacing, set all to zero and single for line spacing
    OK

    Hope that helps!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    There are too many little things in my life driving me crazy right now. I seriously need a vacation – preferable in another country.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Sorry to hear that the little foxes are at it in your life, Robin. Like my (^%$%^&&*@ 8pt problem, you know how maddening the small stuff can be.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      Come here, come here! Hipsterland. It’s *almost* like another country.

      Never mind that Susan’s house and mine are stuffed with adult children making career transitions…

      You need a trip to Japan, that’s what.

      Get that next Darcy book formatted and up for sale. Let Darcy foot the bill for international travel, right? πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        I am really struggling to write. There are too many mind-blowers happening at once. Word is the least of my problems.

        Maybe I should go to a deserted island.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Laura Hile

          Struggling-To-Write is my middle name. You’ve seen me grind to a full stop numerous times.

          When I can’t think or am unable to move my novel forward, I focus on staying limber with words. I write daily for ten minutes without stopping, just anything. On particularly stressful days, I’ve made bullet points listing everything I’ve had to do that day … complete with snark commentary.

          Sometimes this snark gets developed into blog posts!

          A deserted island sounds good to me, Robin. Take heart, summer break, it is a-coming.

          Like

          Reply
        2. Susan Kaye Post author

          Sorry about the struggle, Robin. I’m moving through a large cloud of angst and ennui.

          And I’m not even French.

          Like

          Reply
  3. Sarah Cabezas

    I have learned a lot of quirks about Word lately (with editing my ‘soon to be a real book’!!), but this is one I have never run across. I can’t even find it on a google search. Sorry. I hope you sort it out.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I’ve had this happen before. A little change to presets I mean. It’s maddening but I got my writing done for the day. Thanks for trying to help me, Sarah. Nice to know there are helpful folk out there. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
        1. Susan Kaye Post author

          Spies have to wing it when an operation goes sideways and writers need to learn the skill as well. I remember when I started writing and posting on Pemberley dot com’s Bits of Ivory story board. I was so ignorant of the computer, operating systems, and word processing that I wrote right into the posting window. I can’t count how many times I lost parts of the story into the ether.

          That being the case, 8pts in my way is w-a-a-a-y down the list of problems.

          Like

          Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I think it’s likely that some marginal software writer creates the problem, undoes it after enough complaints roll in, and then looks like a hero with a bonus check in his hand.

      Man, I’m getting so cynical in my old age.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

