Yes, it really happened.

I recently received an e-mail advising me to “write my own story.” Very few people would be interested in my autobiography, but I have already written much of my story in fictionalized form. Guardian, the first book of The Guardian Trilogy, is filled with anecdotal material from my own life as well as the childhoods of my daughters. The story is almost entirely true.

Guardian angel

Guardian angel

Because the book centers around Elizabeth and Xander/Darcy, her guardian angel, you may wonder at my statement. I actually do believe in angels and demons, and I think that they exist around us in a light frequency (or dimension) which we cannot see, much as sounds in certain frequencies are heard by dogs but not by humans. I wrote what happened, and I attributed the outcome to angelic intervention.

Have you told your story? Do you think it’s a good idea to do so?

4 thoughts on “Yes, it really happened.

  1. Wendi Sotis

    I use bits of things that have happened to me in real life, or to people I know, in all of my stories. For example, I used to have a memory like Elizabeth’s in Promises (before the triplets – I think the pregnancy hormones must have killed off all my super-memory brain cells! LOL)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I still use bits and pieces, too, Wendi, but Guardian was more than bits. My daughter’s husband read it to find out more about her childhood. She would tell him, “That was me,” or, “That was Mel.” Nearly every chapter had something that really happened to one of us, and the chapter in which Charlotte nearly died was taken straight from Gayle’s life.

      My memory has declined in the last two or three years. I used to have a photographic memory. Those were the days. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    I can’t write my story until some family members are n o longer with us. I do use bits and pieces here and there. Generally though, I try to keep it fiction through-and-through.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Probably a good idea, Susan. I never put in anyone else’s story bits unless I clear it with them first. Gayle actually sat across from me as I wrote the chapter using her son’s illness. She helped me with the details.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

