The Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 1)

Saturday, my husband and I joined friends in celebrating the beautiful weather and promise of coming summer with a cookout. We did all the obligatory Southern cookout activities:

Dennis was the  Corn Hole Champion. That's the real USC - University of South Carolina.

Dennis was the
Corn Hole Champion.

corn hole, bocci,
We heard tales of the hills of West Virginia, possessed squirrels, and how a Stradivarius ended up dropped into a double-seated outhouse just before a concert. Scary stuff.

We heard tales of the hills of West Virginia, possessed squirrels, and how a Stradivarius ended up dropped into a double-seated outhouse just before a concert. Scary stuff.

and (my personal favorite) ghost stories (or gross stories) around a bonfire. Of course we all enjoyed the usual foods at such an occasion: grilled hamburgers and hotdogs with all the fixins, potato salad, potato chips, baked beans, chili, ice cream pies, and strawberry shortcake – with caffeine free Diet Coke, of course.
I requested burned wieners. Am I the only one who eats them that way?

I requested burned wieners. Am I the only one who eats them that way?

I made s’mores for the first time in my life. We used the biggest marshmallows that I’ve ever seen – truly giants among marshmallows.

Guess what I found as I was poking around in the hostess’s flowers? Guardian had somehow sneaked along for the ride.

I wonder which of the books written by the ladies on this blog will jump into my luggage when I’m not looking and end up in Japan with me?

Join us on our summer travels and travails. Oh, the sights we shall see!

There is no Frigate like a Book (1286)

By Emily Dickinson

There is no Frigate like a Book
To take us Lands away
Nor any Coursers like a Page
Of prancing Poetry –
This Traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of Toll –
How frugal is the Chariot
That bears the Human Soul –

How did that get in there?

How did that get in there?

S'mores are good, but really, really messy. Worth it? Yes!

S’mores are good, but really, really messy. Worth it? Yes!

This marshmallow was responsible for the disappearance of Pluto (the former planet, not the Disney dog).

The marshmallow which is responsible for the disappearance of Pluto (the former planet, not the Disney dog).

6 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 1)

  1. Susan Kaye

    Ha! And they say books are merely paper and ink. Not so. Anyway, I’m not a fan of burnt hot dogs, but I do like popcorn singed a bit. And, I make carrots with a brown sugar sauce that takes on a bit of sophistication when you brown the sugar just a touch “too” much.

    BBQs are great. We had our first two weeks ago. After mowing the acre of lawn.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I don’t like the smell of burnt popcorn, but those carrots sound wonderful!

      Start snapping pics of those BBQs, and bring us along.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    I think I need to move south. Because we don’t get weather like this until July 5th. That’s right. Our fireworks displays often take place in the cold and drizzly damp. And we make s’mores in the oven.

    After that our weather becomes summer-like. Unlike, say, Seattle, which has two warm, dry weeks, usually at the end of July. Seattle is not called the Emerald City for nothing.

    Currently we are having an oddity here in Portland, a teaser week with sun and near-eighty degree temperatures. But just when we joyously decide that summer has come early, the rain will descend once again. For weeks and weeks. OH well. Everything’s green, green, green (see photo).

    I want to come to a BBQ at your house, Robin. It sounds like your family knows how to have a good time.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      If you come to my house, we’ll grill chicken and smoke a pork butt. In a smoker, of course. My husband really knows how to smoke butts. Gayle has a pool. Maybe we could cookout at her house.

      It really is green there. It reminds me of a line from Twilight. Bella said (unhappily), “It’s so GREEN!” Those books were set in Forks, just outside Seattle. Guess Stephanie Meyer had been there.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        This is the early spring green, and with the warm, sunny weather we’ve been having, it will harden into a darker color within the week. The Pacific Northwest is Sasquatch country, so adding vampires and shapeshifters into the grab bag seemed plausible to Meyers?

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

