Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 2)

On this lazy Monday morning, I was basking in the knowledge that I have NO appointments today, which meant I could devote a good chunk of my time to writing. When I went to my laptop, guess what I found?

Snoozing on my laptop, encouraging me to write, Pamela Aiden's An Assembly Such as This awaited me this morning. It was the first Austen inspired novel I ever read and the series which hooked me on the genre.

Snoozing on my laptop, encouraging me to write, Pamela Aiden’s An Assembly Such as This – the first Austen inspired novel I ever read and the series which hooked me on the genre.

How did one of my most cherished books end up there? I wondered. After I took the granddogs out for a walk, I returned to find the book was gone! All I had left was my memories of meeting Pamela in Georgia on Labor Day weekend of 2012.

Pamela and I met at the Decatur Book Festival in 2012. I took her books with me to the tent in which we signed books, and she graciously autographed each one for me.

Pamela and I met at the Decatur Book Festival in 2012. I took her books with me to the tent in which we signed books, and she graciously autographed each one for me.

I remembered how I had apologized to her for the worn state of the books. Both my daughters and I had read them, and I believe I read them several times. (In fact, I think I’ll read them again this summer.)

Pamela smiled as she opened the books to sign them, saying, “These have been well loved.” She told me that I had paid her the highest compliment which could be paid to a writer.

Toby was delighted with my back porch reading spot. He decided to read the book to Chloe. (She can't read yet. She's just a puppy.)

Toby was delighted with my back porch reading spot. He decided to read the book to Chloe. (She can’t read yet. She’s just a puppy.)


I finally found the book on the back porch. Toby had found a sunny spot, and he was sharing An Assembly Such as This with his little sister, Chloe.

While Toby took a nap, Chloe returned to try to read more of the story. Poor baby still doesn't know she can't read. I'll have to read it to her when I finish the blog post.

While Toby took a nap, Chloe returned to try to read more of the story. Poor baby still doesn’t know she can’t read. I’ll have to read it to her when I finish the blog post.

Cynthia Hensley, Stephanie Hamm, Jakki Leatherberry, Gayle Mills, Pamela Aiden, and "Lucy" Parker at the Decatur Book Festival.

Cynthia Hensley, Stephanie Hamm, Jakki Leatherberry, Gayle Mills, Pamela Aiden, and “Lucy” Parker at the Decatur Book Festival.

Now, Gayle and I must find a way to meet Laura Hile and Susan Kaye. We’re thinking ROAD TRIP! Perhaps we’ll meet in the middle of the country since they live in the northwest and we live in the southeast.

I think I must agree with Jane Austen, who famously said, “The person, be it gentleman or lady (or dog), who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

Pamela and I enjoyed dinner with several other Austen-inspired authors. Can you name all of them?

Pamela and I enjoyed dinner with several other Austen-inspired authors. Can you name all of them?

4 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 2)

  1. janashe

    Robin, knowing that you got this blessing at the festival really blesses me and makes me very glad we had it. I, too, would love a chance to retreat with you wonderful ladies one weekend – and this time I get to visit too! Maybe ya’ll can start planning now to be in Boston for the week long jaff lovers ‘retreat’ in August!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I enjoyed it immensely, Jan, and I appreciated all the hard work you Atlanta JASNA members put into it. Meeting you, the authors, and the other folks in Atlanta was wonderful! I remember it very fondly.

      It would be great to go to Boston. I need to finish this series and sell more books so that I can afford to go!! lol

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tamara H

    I absolutely love this trilogy, I wish Pamela would write some more books!! My sister in law just finished reading it after I recommended it, she loved it too. She loved the in depth insight into the change he went through.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’m sure Pamela will appreciate that, Tamara. I, too, wish she would write some more. I believe she has three more out besides this series.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

