I Had to Laugh … an explosive edition

It’s the Fourth of July, do you expect that I would miss an opportunity to hint at bombs bursting?

Anyway, I found a book cover that proves some things never change. Book covers in the 80s were drenched with moist men battling a girl on one arm and a ship’s wheel in the other. If I remember correctly, the trends then went to covers drenched in colorful jewels and colorful titles. Glittering jewels … sexy men. Toss-up. All fans of romance can rejoice because the boys are back!!

Here it is:

Frederick and Anne battle stormy seas and their growing passion.

Frederick and Anne battling stormy seas and about to say the heck with it and make whoopee on the deck of a sinking ship!

And do you like the title? This is the latest title of Joanna Lindsey, Stormy Persuasion. I think I sense a trend.

It’s obviously based on the 2007 adaptaion of Jane Austen’s Persuasion with the dashing Rupert Penry-Jones with his gleaming blond hair. The blond in his arms is more of a mystery. Let’s all pretend this is Frederick and Anne battling a hellacious storm, somewhere exotic, fighting for their lives. Better yet, Frederick and Anne, somewhere exotic, being chased by pirates through a hellacious storm, fighting for their lives, AND fighting their own mounting passions.

I think I made myself a little sick there.

Anyway, the bigger news is that IT ISย  the Fourth of July. If you are an American, this is the day to eat burgers, hot dogs, potato salad, and drink a beer or soda. I read somewhere that the White House website is suggesting instead eat veggie burgers and fruit salad. Potato salad is a vegetable salad so there. And, instead of summery drinks like soda or lemonade, drink fruit-flavored water. Isn’t that what lemonade IS?

Be careful of the fireworks. Put your pets in the house and pull the blinds. Also be mindful of veterans who may be sensitive to loud noises.

Raise your glass to freedom.

Wait. Now that I look at the cover, I think she’s asking, “What are you thinking about?” And he’s wondering if she even notices the raging waves. Next there will be a question about her dress making her look fat.

 

12 thoughts on “I Had to Laugh … an explosive edition

  1. Laura Hile

    Good grief, is that Wentworth? He looks like a raggedy, though muscular, deck hand! Or wait. Maybe … that isn’t Wentworth!

    Commander Benwick?? Or Captain Harville??

    A battle-scarred uniform would certainly look more dashing. But hey, maybe the publisher had this generic storm-at-sea one hanging around and decided to use it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      There is nothing new under the sun so it seems reasonable that storm-blown, hunky sailors would come back into fashion.๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      I know, Laura. They look like California beach people. Like that’s attractive.

      Like the artwork, the two Johanna Lindsey books I’ve read weren’t very faithful to the Regency period.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Susan Kaye Post author

          To be fair to Lindsey, the book synopsis doesn’t seem to have anything to do with Persuasion.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    That’s Thor, not Wentworth, and Ann NEVER looked like that.

    Guess I should use racy covers if I want to sell more books.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      As long as I don’t have to look at the covers, I’m good with lousy, woo hoo, cliche covers.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Look in the mirror? Heck, Robin, I don’t look in the mirror anyway, at least not with my glasses on!๐Ÿ˜€

    I’m wondering what my daughter-in-law (who is a graphic design student) will come up with for the cover of Darcy By Any Other Name. A bare-chested Mr Collins? Um, no.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

