Accepting Aging

Robin at 2Before I turned forty-five, I really had no understanding of older people. I heard what they said, and I noticed that some things were more difficult for them, but I truly didn’t know how they felt until it happened to me. I turned sixty this past April, and it has rocked my world.cheerleader

During the past fifteen years or so, I have noticed my senses slowly growing duller. I don’t hear as well as I used to. My eyesight isn’t as good, and the later the evening wears on, the more my sight blurs. Food doesn’t taste the same to me. My memory has take a huge hit in the past five years.
Robin & Mandy
Yesterday, I started thinking about what I miss the most.
I miss being able to read late into the night. I miss the unlimited energy I used to have. I miss being able to remember everything in detail. I have finally accepted that I must write everything down and keep the list in a place that I check often, because I’ll forget where I put the list. I miss pretty shoes. I miss being able to think about several things at the same time. I miss my parents. I miss those big family gatherings we had when they were alive. I miss feeling needed. I am very busy, but I now realize that I’m not indispensable. Many others can do anything I can do, and they may do it faster or better than I can.Robin at 45

Robin at 56Let’s end this on a happy note. While I miss many aspects of being young, there are plenty of things I don’t miss. I like that I’m more patient than I used to be. I don’t miss worrying about how I look all the time. I may not be smarter, but I am wiser. I don’t care about impressing people any more. I am what I am. Love me or not; it’s your choice. I’ll survive either way. I dance and sing when I feel like it, and I’m not embarrassed. I am confident of my abilities now, and I don’t miss the feeling of doubting myself. I have accepted that I will never be a tiny person, though I would like to lose weight. I’m trying to smile more and whine less. I am more content. I am finally comfortable in my own skin.

This entry was posted in It's personal, Robin Helm and tagged on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

2 thoughts on “Accepting Aging

  1. Susan Kaye

    From the post: “I miss feeling needed. I am very busy, but I now realize that I’m not indispensable.”

    You may not be indispensable in some places, but at JSI! you and Laura Hile have been the only people keeping this skeletal creature going.

    All who like JSI! raise a coffee cup to the ladies!

    Oh, and I hear you about the list thing. GAH!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Susan! I need my coffee, so I’ll take a cup.

      I really miss more than that, but I didn’t want to be too negative.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

