The Way to Have Anything You Want – And Feel Good About It

diet-coke-caffeine-free_full

TIME reported back on December 13 that sales of diet sodas had fallen by 7 percent in the previous year while sales of regular sodas dropped off by only 2 percent. I may as well admit that I am addicted to Caffeine Free Diet Coke, and I find this news to be vaguely disturbing. People are justifiably worried that eating too many artificial sweetners and processed foods is unhealthy. So, in response to the idea that all soda is bad for them, they have chosen to revert to non-diet drinks. The reasoning is that if it’s all bad, a person may as well choose the one they like better.

Love that convoluted reasoning, because if I think that way, I don’t have to give up anything I really like. I think I’ll eat real chocolate instead of sugar-free candy. Rather than give up candy, I’ll just comfort myself into eating my favorite kind. Hey, that works for ice cream, too! And cake!

Let’s apply that concept to other things we like. Let’s say we like loud music. If all loud music is bad for your hearing, you may as well choose the loud music you like the best – even if the lyrics are filthy and the message is bad (along the lines of kill cops and beat women).

People will nearly always find a justification for doing what they really want to do.

5 thoughts on “The Way to Have Anything You Want – And Feel Good About It

  1. Susan Kaye

    When it comes to the wickedness we do, justification is a handy tool. If I were a different person, I’d us the murder-is-just-wrong-so-I’ll-destroy-you-on-social-media justification.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That’s a good one. I see it on a daily basis. Slow death by numerous character assassination posts is a favorite tool of tools.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        I like the side way blow. Ex: “I couldn’t do that, but some people don’t have a problem with it.” In this case, “that” is something innocuous. You get your digs in AND make yourself virtuous at the same time. A win/win.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          There’s also the dig comment, followed by “not that there’s anything wrong with that.” It sounds so tolerant.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

