Not Too Hot

Today is October 7. As I mused on that, I was reminded of a quote from that classic movie (and perennial favorite at our house) Miss Congeniality. One of the movie’s funniest moments came when Stan Fields asked Miss Rhode Island (Cheryl) her interview question in the Miss United States pageant. Check out her answer.

misscongenialityapril25-490x532

This is that sort of day in the South. After I wasted several minutes of my life and a few hundred brain cells pondering that, I began to think – not always a good thing, but I did it anyway. I asked myself, “Self, wasn’t anyone important born on October 7? Did anything of import happen on this day in history?” So I went to the source of all knowledge, Google, and found some answers. They are mostly, “No.”

In 1492, Christopher Columbus changed course and missed Florida, and in 1913, Henry Ford instituted the assembly line. In 1780, the American militia defeated the British near Kings Mountain, NC. In 1942, the United Nations was established. We saw the far side of the moon for the first time in 1959, utilizing the USSR’s Luna 3. In 1969, ABC and NBC began broadcasting. Film star Arnold Schwarzenegger was elected Governor of California in 2003.

Birthdays include Niels Bohr, Yo-Yo Ma, Toni Braxton, Simon Cowell, John Cougar Mellencamp, James Whitcomb Riley, and Joy Behar.

Hits and misses in both lists, but I won’t tell you which ones I think are misses.

All in all, I think Cheryl had it right
– except for the date. And, by the way, she won with that answer.
Miss-Congeniality-Movie-Quote
MissCongeniality

I just love the ridiculous.

8 thoughts on “Not Too Hot

  1. Susan Kaye

    My perfect date would be the one that I don’t forget anything, or break anything. I’ve been going through “stuff” at a high rate of speed lately.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    I came across this and thought of you and Gayle, Robin.

    I felt this way when I lived in Southern California, but there was not much in the way of autumn color. Or cooler temperatures. Or anything. And of course we girls always bought lovely autumn sweaters. And wore them once or twice.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

