I Had to Laugh … Cloud Cuckoo Land, Storm Cloud Edition

DSC_3951_Iván_Melenchón_Serrano_MorgueFile - CopyThey’re b-a-c-k. The hackers are back. The stars are back. While war breaks out worldwide, and out breaks of disease grow ever larger, the stars of Hollywood continue to be plagued with the embarrassment of private pictures being released to the WWW.

The perennial favorite, Jennifer Lawrence has finally weighed in. Yeah, I too am relieved,  because, no doubt like you, I’ve been holding my breath this entire time awaiting the proclamation.

imrs.phpHere it is:

Anybody who looked at those pictures, you’re perpetuating a sexual offense. You should cower with shame. Even people who I know and love say, ‘Oh, yeah, I looked at the pictures.’ I don’t want to get mad, but at the same time I’m thinking, I didn’t tell you that you could look at my naked body.”

It’s a nicely crafted statement. I hope she wrote it herself because it would show she’s a woman who can put words together, not just parrot them when she’s paid.

Let me assure Jennifer, and the rest of you, I haven’t perpetuated a sexual offense. I haven’t looked at any of her photos, or the photos of others who were hacked.

And here’s why: When I joined the Air Force in 1977 I went from complete bathroom privacy to showering with 30 other women every day. At the time, “the showers” were lined with ugly poo brown tile, a sitting area with slat benches like a swimming pool might have, and an area with eight shower heads surrounded by flimsy white plastic curtains that flew around from the water pressure. No stalls, no shower doors, no privacy. I learned that while the aesthetics of women’s bodies varies hugely, the basic components are the same.

And the other reason I haven’t perpetuated a sexual crime is that I don’t think one occurred.

I’m not a familiar with the legal definition of a sex crime. But, I would hate to think the justice system is so loosy goosy that a person who has hands (maybe multiple sets) laid upon them, their clothes ripped away, exposed to ridicule and violence, perhaps beaten, spit upon, concussed, and then left injured enough to require stitches, hospitalization, or worse, are put into the same legal category as someone who had files stolen remotely and therefore their privacy breached. I can’t look at the person who is battered and bruised and say, “Buck up, Jennifer Lawrence had essentially the same thing happen to her.”

It’s always humiliating when we guard something, keep it private and out of sight only to have it made public against our will. In this case it’s embarrassing photographs and the presumptions of their viewers. Sometimes we ruin our own reputation by letting people see the real us, unfiltered. The revelation that we are more than we normally allow people to see is always startling. None of it is comfortable.

Maybe in this case sexual harassment can be claimed. I’m not sure. All I know is that in our world where everyone gets to to define terms, proportion has gone out the window and if we aren’t careful our desire to be sympathetic will destroy reason and discernment.

Take care

7 thoughts on “I Had to Laugh … Cloud Cuckoo Land, Storm Cloud Edition

  1. Robin Helm

    Jennifer Lawrence probably did write that herself. Her interviews show her to be intelligent and very funny. However, in today’s age of social media, internet, and phone pics, no one should put themselves in the position of allowing nude photos to be made of them if they don’t want them to be public. My younger daughter is engaged to a high profile guy. A pic of her in a bikini when she was at her 16th birthday pool party was taken from her FB page and put on a public football forum. She has no idea who lifted the picture. As soon as I saw it, I told her to delete all the pics she doesn’t want to see on national television or in print.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye Post author

    I agree from a practical standpoint that we have to take great care with our digital property. I also think our laws are antiquated and when they find this thief, or any other of the myriad of thieves who hack and filch their way around the Web, these pustules of humanity should be prosecuted to the fullest extent. But, frankly, I am more worried we are losing the ability to differentiate between violent crime and what is, essentially, a property crime.

    Like

    Reply
  3. tgruy

    I agree that invading someone’s privacy should be punished but let’s not lose focus. If you don’t want something all over the web, don’t leave it where it can be breached into so easily. The best bet, if something has the potential to embarrass you, don’t store evidence of it, anywhere.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      My focus is the thought process in calling a breach of privacy a sexual crime. And while I agree that if you don’t want private things made public you have to take precautions. From what I’ve read, the cloud itself wasn’t hacked, it was random guessing of emails and passwords. The recommendation that you have random alphanumeric 13 to 16 digit passwords comes to mind.

      I presume you feel that safety deposit boxes are out as well since those too can be broken into?

      Like

      Reply
    2. Susan Kaye Post author

      And … there are lots of things other than embarrassing pictures I don’t want showing up on the web. Private contracts, medical records, letters, and journals. There are a lot of things that are not embarrassing but are private. Take the embarrassment factor out of the argument, it’s primarily a privacy issue. And on that level, we are all vulnerable.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Laura Hile

    Like Grandma told us, “Don’t be taking nudie pictures of yourself because you don’t know where they’ll end up.”

    This is especially true if one is young and beautiful, like Jennifer Lawrence or Robin’s daughter.
    Um, not Maxine.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Susan Kaye Post author

    For anyone willing to post nekkid pics of themselves–even the ugly girls and boys–there is a contingency willing to look.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

