If Darcy Played Football . . .

TheUnitedStatesofCollegeFootball-1For the past three years, I’ve been very interested in football. I’ve read everything I can find on it, and I keep up with the college teams, particularly the ones in the SEC. My friends think it’s all hysterically funny, because I’ve never had any interest in football before. I’ve always preferred soccer to football, and my girls played volleyball, basketball, and softball. I kept books and stats, or served in coaching or assistant coaching capacities so that I could travel with their teams. I also kept books and stats for soccer, boys’ basketball, and baseball. During those years, I was the same way about those sports that I am about football now. It’s sort of a hobby for me.

Eric Decker, formerly of the University of Minnesota and now a wide receiver for the New York Jets, has the Darcy looks.

Eric Decker, formerly of the University of Minnesota and now a wide receiver for the New York Jets, has the Darcy looks.

I’ve never been good at any sport. I just don’t have the athletic gene, and I have to know people who are playing for me to be truly interested in the sport. (My family tends to be more creative and arty. I suppose we have more of that genetic material.)

One day, I’m going to write a story with football as the background. It’s a violent game played by alpha males. What would you think of a football playing Darcy? I’ve done too much research on this and attended too many games to let the experience go to waste. What position should he play? Offense or defense? I’m thinking either a quarterback or a wide receiver. Ideas?

26 thoughts on “If Darcy Played Football . . .

  1. Jennie Coleen Newbrand

    I enjoy football too. Would he have to be a player? Why not have his family OWN a football team. He has inherited control after the early death of his father, who worked tirelessly to build the team into a world-class competitor. Maybe Bingley is a young team manager or head coach and also Darcy’s best friend. Wickham could be a sleazy sports reporter. Lots of possibilities – but I have a hard time imagining Darcy as a player.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Those are all good ideas. Even if I began with Darcy as a college player and quickly wrote his NFL career as back story, he could become an owner. I hadn’t thought of that. Thanks for commenting, Jennie!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    I can see Wentworth as a player, not so much Darcy. Though, if he was on the field he’d be a QB in a protected position. Definitely and owner with Lizzie stepping in as a player rep or sports psychologist. Wickham=Dr. Feelgood.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      There are plenty of bad guys in college football. Wickham could be a drug dealer, autograph broker, player who intentionally hurts other players, rapist – the list goes on and on. Good guys are harder to find.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your suggestions. You’ve given me plenty to think about.

      Like

      Reply
  3. jdawnking

    Darcy as coach, Lady Catherine as team owner, Wickham as steroid dealing sports trainer, Col Fitzwilliam as left tackle protecting Quarterback’s blind side, Bingley as quarterback who is enchanted by head cheerleader, Jane Bennet who is sister to a jock hating, sports loathing pre-med student Lizzy. Darcy gets ownership if they become champions so Lady C is in serious cahoots with Wicked Wickham. If you write it I will read it.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Robin Helm Post author

        Lizzy could be a grad assistant who works as a trainer for the football team. I think you may be right about cheerleaders in the NFL. They are really dancers more than anything else. However, it would work on the college level.

        Like

        Reply
        1. jdawnking

          Or, she could be a sports analyst or sideline reporter. I am currently thinking way too much about this, Robin, instead of packing for the Vegas Valley Book Festival. (I leave tomorrow night). Wish you were going to be there too.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Robin Helm Post author

            You’ve got some great ideas. I’m really going to have to do this. It would make a great novella. I wish I were able to go to Las Vegas, too. Oh, well. My books will be there. lol

            Like

            Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      You’ve taken it to a higher level! Those are great suggestions! You have laid out practically the whole plot. Since I know a good bit about how college football works from the inside, I might switch it to college in the beginning. Darcy is a star player who played in the NFL and then became a coach. There’s plenty of precedence for that scenario. (Steve Spurrier?)

      Like

      Reply
      1. jdawnking

        I have a love/hate relationship with football. I was such a fan of the Oakland Raiders in the 1970’s that I did nothing else but watch the games when they were on. Then I became a wife and mother and I could not devote so many hours at a time to a televised sport. In mid-1980’s I quit football cold turkey and regained my life. Now, I am a Oregon State Beaver fan (my Mom is a Oregon Duck) and I am a Peyton Manning fan. When we lived in Ecuador it was all soccer so we are enjoying watching the games the last month that we have been back in Oregon. Would I love to read a story about football and the Pride & Prejudice characters? You bet!

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          My younger daughter is engaged to an SEC college quarterback. They’ll get married in June. I’ve learned quite a bit during the three years they’ve dated, so it would be realistic.

          Like

          Reply
  4. C. Allyn Pierson

    I was amused by this post…I too have become a reluctant football fan and I never thought I would say that! The catalyst for my interest has been the sudden development of the Oregon Ducks as a power in NCAA football. My father, my sister, and I went to Oregon (it was our local school and could not afford anything else!) and the Ducks have never had a decent football team, even back in the days, during my father’s tenure, when they were called the Webfoots (no, not the Webfeet). When they became a great team it was not long after my mom died, so my sister and I tried to watch with our dad so he would have someone to talk with about the games. I started paying attention and asking questions about the subtleties, and it was not long before I started really enjoying it! ::shakes head in perplexity::
    One more comment…the movie Animal House was filmed at Oregon when I was a student there and the outside of the sorority they climb up to peek into is the Sigma Nu fraternity. The Sigma Nu house was also used as the inside of the “Animal House” and the outside of the “Animal House” is next door, but is not an actual fraternity or sorority house. The original Sigma Nu house burned down soon after my dad graduated and he was the head of the alumni association at the time and spearheaded the fund raising the build the current house. The “new” house got a complete renovation for allowing them to film there (and it needed it- it was pretty much a dump inside when I was in school…not that I was hanging around a fraternity house or anything…ahem….). Since that was 30 years ago, I’m guessing it could use another renovation…perhaps a remake of “Animal House?”
    Anyway, welcome do the world of football fandom, Robin. You are not alone! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. jdawnking

      How cool is this!!! Two Oregon fans in a row. I am now in the Roseburg area and the fans here are seem equally divided between Beavers and Ducks. Several years ago we were in West Virginia and saw tons of red and white OSU sweatshirts. Fooled me for a second or two! I personally think they need to change their official name to the State University of Ohio (SUO) for all the dunderheads like me who don’t think in terms of color. Go Beavers!!!

      Like

      Reply
    2. Robin Helm Post author

      That’s very interesting. I had no idea. The Ducks have been a powerhouse (and fashion statement) as long as I’ve followed football. I thought they had always been that way.

      Thanks for sharing that. We’re all admitting our addictions here. Group therapy. 😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. C. Allyn Pierson

        The Ducks have an advantage over the Beavers, however, that can never be overcome…when we beat a rival we particularly dislike (which, oddly enough, is NOT Oregon State…) we can say “Duck you Cardinal” or, conversely, “Duck you Trojans.” As an Oregonian I was amused to hear my husband (who is from Los Angeles) call USC “University of Second Choice.” And he went to Wisconsin so he didn’t have anything personal with the Pac 8-10-12…whatever it is now…
        We all feel close to Oregon State, in spite of being supposed in-state rivals. We are the two smallest universities (by far) in the Pac Whatever conference- if the schools were combined we would be more comparable to the other schools in the conference.
        On the negative side…Oregon’s colors are Lemon Yellow and Emerald Green…not much to brag about there! I do get a little frisson of excitement still when I see a Green Bay shirt until I realize that it’s not Oregon. I have seen a couple of Oregon football jerseys in small town midwest, however, since the Ducks have become a football powerhouse.
        I can’t figure out why our mascot never loses his gut however…every time Oregon scores he does the same number of push ups as the entire Duck score…since they are often very high scoring he does a LOT of push ups every week.
        OK…enough flight of ideas and it’s time to go to bed! Fun article Robin!

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I think every fan base has come up with a comparable “cheer,” Allyn. The Gamecocks have multiple cheers, jeers, and traditions based on the unfortunate choice of mascot. I can’t actually print any version of them here which would be PG-13. Just look at the team name – Game cocks – and I’m sure you can figure it out.

          The colors of Oregon may be a bit garish, but the uniforms are very unusual and cutting edge. It seems that every week they have some new version featuring feathers on the shoulders or swirls of colors. South Carolina doesn’t stray from tradition. After all, our head coach is 69 years old and extremely superstitious. Since he won’t repeat color combinations in which we’ve lost, we no longer wear Wounded Warrior unis, black, all garnet, or all white. Now that we’ve lost in garnet and white, I fear that we’ll become a version of the lingerie league.

          Glad to give you a giggle.

          Like

          Reply
  5. Susan Kaye

    When you have the wherewithal off Phil Knight’s Nike directing the fashions of your team, you tend to have the nice stuff. I grew up with a football father. To say I’m happy-as-a-clam being married to a guy who could not care less is an understatement.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      My dad was into car racing, and I’m really glad nobody at my house likes it. The noise was irritating. I’m the only one at my house now who really likes football. The others watch it to see my daughter’s fiance.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Me, too, Susan. We’ve had three in the last two games. A fumble brings me to my feet, whether I’m in the stadium or at home watching on TV. Interceptions freak me out, too.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

