Stress Less with Thankfulness

My pastor, Dr. Brian Saxon, is preaching a sermon series entitled “Stress Less.” This past Sunday, he chose Philippians 2:14 – “Do everything without grumbling or arguing,” and challenged us to write down every complaint we spoke this week. The idea was that the more we look at the positive rather than the negative, the less stress we put into our lives. We learn to be content (Philippians 4:11 – “For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”)

I made it through the remainder of Sunday by being silent as much as was possible, but Monday afternoon, a less-than-stellar driver pulled in front of me, and as usual, I complained. Loudly. Then I realized that I would have to write it down, so I complained about that. At that point, I laughed at myself.

How human of me.

During this season of Thanksgiving, I hope to be less of a complainer and more of a thankful person. I’m teaching my elementary children the song “Thankful,” made popular by Josh Groban. I nearly cried yesterday as my first graders sang so sweetly, performing the gentle choreography.

Take a few minutes to listen and be thankful for what you have.
Trust me. Things could be much worse.

2 thoughts on “Stress Less with Thankfulness

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

