I Had to Laugh .. then shake my head

Last week I pointed to the elegant and tasteful engagement announcement of the families of Benedict Cumberbatch and Sophia Hunter. This week we move to another marriage announcement. This time it’s Mr. Charles Manson and Ms Afton Elaine Burton (AKA, Star).

Here’s the official engagement photo:

The happy couple

The happy couple

It’s enough that Charles Manson is in the equation, isn’t it? He’s 80 something and she’s obviously not.

I have never understood why women do the whole my-man’s-in-prision-but-he’s-innocent-no-really-he-is thing. I don’t see semi-annual news stories on men marrying women behind bars.

The money quote: “She said she is interested in working on his case, and marrying him would allow her to get information not available to nonrelatives.”

I smell a book deal coming on.

I’ll be disappointed if that proves to be the reason for the nuptials. I was hoping Charles had found true love at last.

10 thoughts on “I Had to Laugh .. then shake my head

  1. Sophia Rose

    No, just…no! My uncle was one of Manson’s guards when he was at Folsom. He was a hardened guard at a Federal prison, but to this day, he says that Manson creeped him out the most. Does she not get why this guy has never made parole? Even for a book deal which makes a ton of sense. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      My grandparents lived near the Spahn Ranch in the San Bernadino mountains and used to see the “Family” digging in the garbage for food and picking up their mail, general delivery, at the post office. Unsettling to say the least. The Tate, La Bianca were the first murders that caught my attention. Crime at it’s worst for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    In an article I read, she said she thought his writing to her in red crayon or his blood was romantic. She’s as nutty as he is – though I really think he’s possessed. She has to be in this because she thinks she’ll make money. She’s making a literal deal with the devil.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      A deal with the Devil for sure. And she best be careful, the tendrils of evil can wind quietly and then suddenly tighten. As for what passes for romantic in the minds of some, all I can say is Angelina Jolie and Billy Bob Thornton. Gad-fry!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      It was terrifying for my grandmother. Even though they had moved to North Idaho by the time the murders took place and then the Family was captured, she was simultaneously revolted and fascinated by the spectacle as it played out on the news.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Like you, Susan, this was the first major news story that caught my attention, not that I understood much. I grew up in the San Fernando Valley (Southern California), and the coverage was everywhere. As a teen I read Helter Skelter and was aghast.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I think this was one of the first crimes that got the “star” treatment as well. There had always been true crime potboiler paperbacks and such, but since this was a vicious and brutal crime involving a celebrity, it got top drawer press.

      As an aside, I wonder how long it would take to carry out the prosecution of these murders today.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I never read “In Cold Blood.” We’ve always lived in the country and reading about a family killed in their farmhouse was just too close to the bone. I couldn’t even watch the movie with Robert Blake.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

