For the new year, a single word

EngageThis year I’m skipping the New Year’s resolutions. Mine don’t last long. A week, maybe. Or until the plate of fudge is passed round. (Diet? What diet?)

Instead, I’m choosing one word for the year. The idea is to have clarity and sustained focus. Plus, a single word is easier to remember.

My word for 2014 was READY. Instead of something passive like CONTENTMENT or COPING, I chose something proactive and expectant. After all, I’d been asking God for success. If I pray for wind (like Hudson Taylor did when that ship was becalmed), then I ought to put up the sails.

Did READY change my life? Not in a dramatic way, but yes. It highlighted my need to do more than tread water and be patient. READY challenged the way I approached my in-progress novel, too. It pushed me to keep moving forward, and as a result the book is set for an early-April release.

My word for 2015 is ENGAGE. It’s another “step-up” word. No hanging back, no sitting on my hands, no remaining in my “safe” introvert corner. ENGAGE brings me into contact with people and prods me to join the conversation. I’m in for an exciting ride.

An encouraging word from Aslan  (Image: Lancia Smith)

An encouraging word from our friend, Aslan. Because choosing to ENGAGE involves courage,oh yes.
(Image Credit: Lancia E Smith. Photo links to her website)

How about you? Would you like to choose a word for 2015? Check out MyOneWord.org.

6 thoughts on “For the new year, a single word

  1. Susan Kaye

    I got on a site around Thanksgiving that banged on about choosing a word for the coming year. I signed up for a 12-day email newsletter that was going to help me find a word to carry me through all life’s trials to come. It was all too Hippy Dippy for me. Nothing came of all the pondering, maundering, communing with nature. (I told you it was Hippy Dippy.) Finally, I was sitting in church Sunday and I realized that in any battle, I have to be as ruthless as the enemy I am fighting. And since I am my own worst enemy, I have to be ruthless with myself.

    That doesn’t mean I will be taking up flagellation, cold showers, or long treks on my knees. It does mean I will be ruthlessly constant. Yes, it’s two words, but leave it to me to blow off the rules.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

