What would you sacrifice to have what you want?

Urban Meyer after the Ohio State National Championship win Photo by Getty Images

Urban Meyer after the Ohio State National Championship win
Photo by Getty Images

There’s a ton of money to be made from college football, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that not all of the benefits from the Ohio State National Championship win over Oregon went to the universities and ESPN. I do know that eventually the players themselves will make millions when they sign NFL contracts, but some of them might not see that money for quite a while, and others will not make the pros.

I wrote this post to celebrate the good fortune of about five hundred people who received an unexpected windfall as a result of the Ohio win. According to ABC news, customers of fifteen Morris Home Furnishings and Ashley Furniture HomeStores located in Ohio and Kentucky who bought at least $1,999 in furniture, mattresses, and accessories between December 17 and January 1 were promised refunds if Ohio State won by at least seven points. The game was a 42-20 blowout, and the furniture buyers’ winnings are in the $1.5 million range.

While doing the research for this blog entry, I came across a wonderful article on Urban Meyer, the Ohio State coach. He’s quite an interesting man. I had no idea he had been through so much during his rise to prominence. He even quit at one point, and before he took the job at Ohio State, he signed two contracts: one with Ohio State, and the other with his family, whom he had neglected in pursuit of his career. Yes, he had made plenty of money, but he nearly lost his children in the process. In the end, he decided that his wife, daughters, and son were more important than his job.

Urban Meyer and family by www.sportsleader.org

Urban Meyer and family by http://www.sportsleader.org

This list is part of the contract he made with his family:

1. My family will always come first.

2. I will take care of myself and maintain good health.

3. I will go on a trip once a year with Nicki — MINIMUM.

4. I will not go more than nine hours a day at the office.

5. I will sleep with my cellphone on silent.

6. I will continue to communicate daily with my kids.

7. I will trust God’s plan and not be overanxious.

8. I will keep the lake house.

9. I will find a way to watch Nicki and Gigi play volleyball.

10. I will eat three meals a day.

Now that’s a winning list. All of us could learn a few things from Urban Meyer. Money isn’t the most important thing in life.

9 thoughts on “What would you sacrifice to have what you want?

  1. Susan Kaye

    I think No 8, “I will keep the lake house” is on the list. Obviously one of those things that gets in the way when in hot pursuit of career. It is likely woven generally into No 3.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I agree with you. His wife is a beautiful, intelligent woman – a psychiatric nurse. She deserves to be adored, and he can’t do that if he doesn’t spend time with her.

      The wives of the college and NFL football coaches have all sacrificed a great deal in their marriages. They have money, but what they have had to put up with would not make it worth it to me.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    There are times when I say, “Just give me the money, and I’ll put up with the rest.” But I don’t mean it. The wives of career-oriented men have an obligatory social life that goes with his job, and it is relentless as well as time-consuming. I have a colleague who is the wife of Century High School’s head football coach. Such a great guy and devoted to his family, but his schedule is something else. I don’t know how she manages to keep up with everything.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      My husband’s life as a minister is very demanding of his time, too, but the whole fame and money thing doesn’t come with that. Ha! My older daughter is married to a soldier who’s away about 7 months out of the year, and my younger daughter has had some experience with the stress of dealing with a high profile future mate. They handle it with grace. I don’t know that I would.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I was impressed, too. When you make it public, everyone else knows whether or not you’re living up to your end of the bargain. Thanks for stopping by, Sophia Rose.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

