Just One of Those Days

Husband and Granddaughter, pre gash

Husband and Granddaughter, pre gash

The Sunday before last my husband was in the basement starting a fire. Our granddaughter was down there with him, bouncing her ball at the other end of the room. I heard him breaking wood down to kindling and her chattering away with him. Before I knew it, Granddaughter came into the living room, still bouncing her ball. Husband was following her, bent, grimacing, and limping. He said, “Come here and look at this for me.”

That is never good.

Many years ago he was off in the woods looking for downed limbs, (our landlord allows us to use all the wood we can gather short of cutting trees), and he returned, bloody face, hand on his head and telling me “it” wasn’t as bad as it looked. The gash on his head from a fallen limb took eight stitches.

We got into the bathroom and there was a small cut in his pants. Okay, maybe not too bad. The blood soaking the area might be from something else.😉

I helped him take his trousers down to look. For just a moment we were both hoping the gash the axe left would not require a trip to the hospital, but that wasn’t the case. Once we decided it was bad enough, he pulled his pants up and I cut off the leg of them and his long underwear. It was fine because the long underwear was old and had a hole in the knee, and now the pants had a cut in them too, so, off with their legs!

If you have children, you know when the decision to go to the hospital has been made, you’re taken over by a kind of Mommy Fugue state and all your moves are choreographed by your hormones. I went to my sewing box, got out the scissors for material. The kitchen shears were closer but they have been used to hack up chickens and cut open bags of frozen veg, they aren’t the proper tool for this job. So, I slipped off Husband’s shoe and sock, cut the legs, put the sock back on and then the shoe. Of course I had to tie the shoe. I knew the adrenalin was really pumping when I tied the laces and then started to tie a double knot the way you do with a toddler’s shoe.

Muscle memory is a wonderful thing. It keeps first responders sharp. When we practice movements over and over we can do them flawlessly in an emergency. I now know when I’m tasked with shoe tying, those pups are staying put because no matter the age of my charge, I’ll be tying double knots. This is likely why I wear slip-ons.

The gash took 12 stitches total.

He’s grounded from playing with wood for a while.

11 thoughts on “Just One of Those Days

  1. Laura Hile

    There’s that note in the voice, Bill’s “Come here and look at this,” that cuts through normality. Our children grow up, but we forget that the spouse might be the one needing a ride to the ER.

    All the best to Bill as he heals. We have wood that needs cutting. I’m hiding our ax.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Yeah, the ride to the hospital, in the dark, was exciting. Remind me sometime to tell you about when I drove over the lane divider on the way home. In sickness and in health …

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sophia Rose

    I want to laugh, but yet I don’t want to laugh at someone’s pain. I’ve made a few trips to the ER with a recalcitrant husband who has the ‘just rub a little dirt on it’ mentality. Poor guy! Hope he heals soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thanks, Sophia Rose. He is healing remarkably well and only missed three days of work. I am not tying his shoes though.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Aside from some people, I luvluvluv many things, but this picture is one of those things. The bonus is, I lost the original and when writing this post I went digging in the blog’s media mess to see if I had anything with the two of the together. VOILA!! I have my fave pic back.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thanks, Mags. Yes, dear husband doesn’t hurt himself TOO badly when he does it. Just enough to get my heart racing and mind considering widowhood. (In his defense, I’m a worrier and everything sets me off in those directions.)

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      My husband would have hidden it from me and driven himself to the hospital. I would have heard about it on Facebook. lol He can’t stand to be taken care of. He takes care of other people.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

