Honorable Men – Husbands

My Mr. Knightley

My Mr. Knightley

My husband is an honorable man. He is faithful, hardworking, honest, funny, talented, intelligent, handsome, kind, humble, compassionate, and lovable. He’s known throughout the community as a dependable, pleasant person who will readily help those in need. He’s also read the Austen novels, and he watches all the film variations with me, quoting fluently. He’s handy, too. If he can’t fix it, throw it away. He has always been a wonderful husband and a superb father to our daughters.

However, he does have one fault; he’s not a good gift giver. For Christmas, he gave me an alternator for my car and had it serviced. Not exactly a ten on the romance meter. (Rest easy, ladies. I bought my own Christmas presents from him and put them under the tree. He also bought me a few more presents when he saw that I was less than thrilled. I received a portable battery charger for my phone. (Now that’s romantic, right?) In short, I married Mr. Knightley, not Mr. Darcy.

The Mr. Knightleys

The Mr. Knightleys

Mr. Knightley is a great favorite of mine, obviously. He does what is right; he does his duty. He’s down-to-earth and sensible. In short, it’s possible that after 38 years of marriage, he could give Emma an alternator for Valentine’s Day and wonder why she isn’t thrilled. It’s also probable that after he realizes she’s disappointed, he would choose another gift, just like my Mr. Knightley did (and he might make the same mistake again in going for practicality over romance).

That’s fine with me. I’d rather have an honorable Mr. Knightley than a romantic Frank Churchill any day.

10 thoughts on “Honorable Men – Husbands

  1. J "Joy" Dawn King

    This made me laugh. I, too, am married to an honorable man that I adore. Over the years I’ve received a new set of tires for my car, a lawn mower, a water ski that fit him, and assorted other items that were not classically romantic. However, when he explained to me that the tires were to assure him of my safety while he spent long periods at sea – I totally got the romance.

    I’m still smiling. Thank you so much, Robin, for posting.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I understand completely. I knew how he was when I married him, and I’m happy with my choice – just as you are. I’ve seen many classically romantic men who were jerks. They spread that romance around a little too much.

      Thank you, Joy, for commenting. You made me smile, too.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    I love a man with skills. Larry has mad skills. And he’s a wonderful brother-in-law. I remember the year he gave me canned roadkill for Christmas. One of my favorite presents — EVER.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Larry definitely has skills. Mother used to love to see him coming for Christmas. He spent one whole Christmas Eve day installing her new dishwasher. She usually had a list ready for him.

      I had forgotten about that canned roadkill. Classic Larry.

      Thanks, Sis.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Anji

    Robin, you’ve really made me smile this morning! I’ve always thought of my husband as Mr. Bingley as his personality is much the same, except that he wouldn’t have been persuaded away by his sisters and friend in the same way!

    After reading your post, I think he also has some Mr. Knightley in him. He’s very handy and practical – he recently converted an old broken drop-front bureau (not an antique one, btw) into a new bookcase for my growing collection of real (as opposed to virtual) JAFF. I’ve also been on the receiving end of “practical” presents: items for the car, kitchen equipment.. I could go on..and on..

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I love, love, love passing along smiles, Anji. You’ve made my day. I can definitely imagine Larry doing what your husband did. He is going to build a display based on a step ladder for my Dickens villages before next Christmas. I don’t have enough room to put everything out, and he loves the lighted, porcelain buildings as much as I do. In fact, I still have a small set up on the mantelpiece because he enjoys it so much. I told him a couple of days ago that I really have to take it down. He wants me to buy some pieces and paint over the Christmas decorations so that I can leave it up all winter. That’s doable.

      I think he used our Amazon account to order something for my phone for Valentine’s Day. The man is a hopeless (really!) romantic.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Sophia Rose

    You have a real treasure. We have the Proverbs 31 Woman that guys are told to look for and marry, but I think there are a breed of men out there- the Mr. Knightleys if you will- who are also treasures beyond compare. Nicely done, Robin, to treasure yours even if his idea of romantic runs along the lines of protection, comfort and safety. Although, he does have true romance in him if he appreciates Austen. So look touchingly surprised as you open that emergency kit for the car while watching the A&E version of Emma (Mark’s my favorite Mr. Knightley). πŸ˜‰

    I have one that is a Mr. Tilney to the public and Col. Brandon to his closest family and friends.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Mark Strong is my favorite Mr. Knightley, too. I just love his tirade near end about Frank Churchill. Since my husband’s favorite Emma is Kate Beckinsale, we agree on our favorite Emma version.

      Any man who loves Austen has to have a little romance in there. You wouldn’t believe our discussions of the books and films. Of course, he’s a musician, too, so he has somewhat the soul of an artist. We actually started dating because of music. I played for his voice lessons.

      I’m going to go practice my “touchingly surprised” look .πŸ˜‰

      Mr. Tilney and Colonel Brandon are both high on my list, so you have a winner in my estimation.

      Thanks for stopping by, Sophia Rose.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Susan Kaye

    Ready to be jealous, ladies. My husband is handy–he’s in industrial maintenance so knows his way around instructions at least–AND he’s a great, romantic gift-giver. Or at least he was until I stomped it out of him. If there’ a radiator-giving sort in our marriage, it’s me. More about this Thursday.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

