And the Winner Is . . .

How could you not give this man an award? It's a travesty.

How could you not give this man an award? It’s a travesty.

The Oscars have come and gone again, and once more, after reading the lists of nominees, I have seen a total of two of the movies nominated for anything – Captain America: The Winter Soldier and X-Men: Days of Future Past. There are six more that I will probably rent when they come out in DVD – Into the Woods, Unbroken, American Sniper, The Theory of Everything, Guardians of the Galaxy, and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. The ratings and language make one of those very “iffy” for me. I had never even heard of most of the nominated movies, and only two on either of my lists won anything.

The films that win aren’t generally popular with audiences. The masses (translated “we”) apparently don’t recognize which movies are worth going to see. They aren’t “arty” enough for those who vote for the awards. That’s okay. People involved with movies like Superman, The Avengers (and all the spin-offs), Maleficent, Frozen, Divergent, and other popular favorites are laughing all the way to the bank.

In fact, when a movie wins an Oscar, I wonder what’s wrong with it.

On the upside, Lady Gaga’s tribute performance of a medley of songs from The Sound of Music was a pleasant surprise. She can sing! And she wasn’t wearing a dress made of meat or metal! She kept on all of her clothes! And Julie Andrews herself joined Gaga at the end! It was, hands down, the best moment of the Oscars.

Enjoy!

By the way, I think Chris Evans would make a wonderful modern Darcy. If you read Forever Yours, he’s my model.

6 thoughts on “And the Winner Is . . .

  1. Laura Hile

    How delighted my sons were when Robin told me to watch the Avengers movies, and Thor and Captain America. I haven’t seen the latest one yet.

    My sons enjoyed American Sniper. Michael’s copy of the book is on our coffee table. With intense stories, I prefer to read.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That was the only movie on my list that I was wary of. Glad to have the recommendation of your sons. I’ll probably see it in a theater or rent it. It’s a little difficult for me to watch such realistic war movies right now since my SIL is in the military.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    The Oscars have become an overblown trade association. What the hoi polloi enjoy is too passe for them. I am glad that I did see a lot of the movies that didn’t get a nod or win.

    American Sniper was intense in the theatre. I will buy it to remind me of modern warfare. And the fact that Bradley Cooper is an amazing physical chameleon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’ve heard many people say the same thing about American Sniper. I really must see it and write a review. I’ve always liked Bradley Cooper. I think he’s been undersold as an actor.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        The physical transfomation from the character in Silver Linings Playbook and American Sniper is stunning. Not only in his body, but in his facial expressions and his eyes. Very impressive. If I were going for an American Wentworth, Bradley is the guy.

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

