The Faith of Children

The past couple of weeks have been quite hectic, but the last two days were downright frantic. Seven of my fifth grade students at Discovery School auditioned for, and were chosen to be in, the Lancaster County Children’s Honor Chorus. They practiced Monday night and Tuesday and performed Tuesday night, along with about one hundred thirty other fifth graders in the district.

The program opened with “The Star Spangled Banner” and continued as they performed “Rain Dance,” “I Am A Small Part of the World,” “The Not So Boring Minuet,” “Come Celebrate,” and “We’ve Got Music.”

The final piece was “Let There Be Peace on Earth.” It was a fitting end – a prayer, if you will – to the concert. I watched their faces and thought of all that they could accomplish toward that goal. Every child on that stage believed that peace is possible.

Lancaster County Honor Children's Chorus

Lancaster County Honor Children’s Chorus

I didn’t mean to blur the picture, but it worked out well. Since their faces are indistinct, I can post it.

https://www.facebook.com/robin.helm.372 (This link will direct you to my Facebook page. A parent of one of the students posted a video of the children singing “Let There Be Peace on Earth” on my wall.)

Perhaps I am too old; I’ve seen too much of the world. Seeing it through their eyes gives me hope. As I listen to the drums of war, I pray that this generation will do what mine could not.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

