Talk Like an Irishman Day.

Irish blessing

I would dearly love to travel to Ireland some day. My mother was Scots-Irish, so I’m related to some Griffins somewhere on the Emerald Isle. Here are a few Irish colloquialisms that would be useful:

1. “Sure look it.” Just say this when you don’t know what to say.
Irish 1
2. “A whale of a time” means “a very good time.”
irish_blessing_desire
3. “The jacks” are the restrooms. The sexes are written in Irish, so you’d best know the difference between “fir jacks” and “ban jacks.” I would be sure to go into the wrong one. It would be an accident. I wonder if they have pictures on the doors to give visitors a hint.
Irish prayer

4. “Go way outta that!” Used in place of “You don’t mean it!” or “I don’t mind.”

Irish saying
5. “Was it any use?” “Was it any good?”

6. “Quare” means “very.” “This food looks quare strange.”

7. “Happy out” is used in the present while you’re having a good time. “I’m happy out having a whale of a time!”

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Kiss me. I’m Irish.

This entry was posted in Holiday, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

8 thoughts on “Talk Like an Irishman Day.

  1. Laura Hile

    “Laughter to cheer you” … thanks for this, Robin. May you one day find that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow — or in a series of royalty checks — to enable you to fulfill your Irish travel dreams.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      The Irish blessings are wonderful, aren’t they?

      If I keep working steadily, I’ll be able to take that lovely trip.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Actually, I stole that idea for this post. I can talk like a pirate much more easily than I can do an Irish accent. I’m hopeless at that, but I love to listen to it.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

