Who changed?

Love and Logic iconI realized this past week that this is the first year in my twenty-nine year teaching career that I don’t dread at least one class coming to my room. How wonderful is that?

Now that I’ve begun to think about that, I wonder why. I doubt the students have changed. That leaves only one explanation. I must have changed in the way I view my students. Love and Logic book

This past year, our school administration implemented a philosophy of discipline called “Love and Logic,” and it revolutionized the way I view my students. It gave me concrete suggestions and tools for dealing with different situations, and, hallelujah!, it works – for me and for the students.

Love and Logic situationsMaybe sixty-one will be a very good year after all.

Love and Logic rules

Whether you are a teacher, a parent, or a boss, the books from the Love and Logic Institute are worth reading. I wish I had had this training thirty-odd years ago when I first began to teach. I also could have used this approach in parenting. My life would have been much less stressful, and I would have enjoyed the journey a great deal more.

This entry was posted in Deep Stuff, Robin Helm and tagged on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

4 thoughts on “Who changed?

  1. Susan Kaye

    Over time I’ve changed a lot. I expect there will be irritations and there are. Being prepared is half the battle.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I agree. I have also changed a great deal over the course of my life, but this was a major shift, and rather sudden. In the span of six months, I relate to my students in a very different way than I have for nearly thirty years.

      I’m not the most flexible person in the world. Ha!

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

