Shakespeare and Jousting and Aliens (Oh, My!)

Oregon-Shakespeare_54_990x660With the arrival of spring weather, I am reminded of summer travels. Sometimes, as was the case with my trip to Japan last summer, traveling offers a change to experience a different culture. The United States is such a melting pot that we can experience many cultures through festivals and never leave the country.

Photo courtesy of T. Charles Erickson

Texas-Ren-Fest_54_990x66010Best Readers’ Choice Awards offers you the chance to vote for the best festival. Since I’ve never been to any of the twenty festivals nominated, and there was no Austen festival, I voted for the next best thing – the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Texas Renaissance Festival in Todd Mission was a close second, and the UFO Festival in (of course) Roswell, New Mexico, came in third.      Photo courtesy of Texas Renaissance Festival

UFO-Festival_54_990x660

You may vote for your favorite once a day until polls close on April 13 at noon, EST.

The UFO Festival had me at the use of the word “quirky” in their description.  Dressing up for this one would be fun! Right up there with Comic-Con International in San Diego!

Which festival would you most like to attend?

Photo courtesy of nmtourism.org

4 thoughts on “Shakespeare and Jousting and Aliens (Oh, My!)

  1. Susan Kaye

    Well, Robin, if you come to Oregon, you will most definitely experience a different culture.

    As for the festivals offered, I’m thinking Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in ND. I don’t ride but wow, what an opportunity. Too bad PETA has grown out of the throwing red paint stage. The second would definitely be Comicon. Of all the gatherings of “types” I think of geeks as my people.

    In my area fans are trying to start a Renaissance festival in late summer. If it comes around again, I might go. Again, another opportunity to watch our species at play.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Geeks are my people, too. That’s why I like the UFO Festival. lol

      There’s a Renaissance Festival in Charlotte, NC, every year, but it didn’t make the list.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        As Sheldon of TBBT says, just because you stick ‘ye old’ in front of something doesn’t make it historical. I’m leery about a new festival celebrating something old.

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

