Throwback Thursday

A little something from the back of a drawer I’m cleaning out:

MICHAEL_WILL_BEACH_medThis is a picture of my son and Laura’s son building a sandcastle at Cannon Beach, OR. The year is up for grabs.

 

 

 

 

And now, for the really scary pic:

GEORGIA_20000_med

 

This is from the summer of 2000. From left to right, Pamela Aidan, Laura Hile, and Susan Kaye. No, I’m not drunk, I just photograph that way.

We were having lunch at a tea room beneath an antiques store in North Carolina.
The place was packed, the food was good, and it was hotter than Hades.

 

9 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

  1. Laura Hile

    The blog loads up and there is my Michael, lean and lanky and focused on his creation—they both are. No one is ever too grown up for sand castles. I’m thinking they’re sophomores in high school?

    The truly scary picture could be a throwback to the 80’s for me. A perm? What was I thinking?

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. We had a very good time in North Carolina. We learned a thing or two about soft-spoken Pamela Aidan. Even though driving a small car, she won’t be pushed around by eighteen-wheelers. In the blinding rain. Oh my, she can hold her own on the highway.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye Post author

    I thought it would make a good surprise. The W and M pic, not the other. And who knows how Pamela is going to feel about it … ?

    I still remember being hunkered down in that gas station in S. Carolina waiting for the rain to ease. I love the smell of humidity and diesel in the afternoon! Oh, and Subway sandwiches.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      DING!DING!DING! There’s the key to pictures–not being in them. I’m fine with pictures I’m taking and not in. Well, except those pictures where they catch you with one eye almost closed/open. EW. After the tea room, we went to a big drugstore across the street. Reason unremembered. And the we went to Duke University and wandered for an hour or so in their gardens. And sneaked into the chapel as someone was prepping for a wedding. Nice day. Bloody hot day.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

