No one mold to break

Photo: Heather Katsoulis (Creative Commons Flickr)

Photo: Heather Katsoulis (Creative Commons Flickr)

I myself was always recognized, though quite kindly, as ‘the slow one’ of the family. The reactions of my mother and my sister were unusually quick—I could never keep up. I was, too, very inarticulate. It was always difficult for me to assemble into words what I wanted to say….It is probably one of the causes that have made me a writer.

Agatha Christie

How I smiled when I discovered this quotation. Agatha Christie, shy? Inarticulate, even? But she was one of the best-selling authors of all time. She was anything but ‘slow.’

In this busy social media age, when an author is supposed to tweet and blog and be everywhere and all that (for one must be building a platform), how refreshing it is to remember that there is no one mold to break.

As we’ve been celebrating Robin Helm’s release of Forever Yours, I’ve been thinking about how variety is an excellent thing, both in friendship and in reading.

A blessed companion is a book, a book that, fitly chosen, is a lifelong friend…
a book that, at a touch, pours its heart into our own.

Douglas Jerrold

Every writer has obstacles to overcome. Christie has given me countless hours of reading pleasure, and her books are like friends. How thankful I am that, like so many of us, she had financial needs. And that she was able to get past feeling ‘inarticulate’ and write that first book. And the next, and the next.

Except a living man there is nothing more wonderful than a book!
A message to us from the dead, from human souls whom we never saw,
who lived perhaps thousands of miles away; and yet these,
on those little sheets of paper, speak to us, teach us, comfort us,
open their hearts to us as brothers.

Charles Kingsley

Speaking of books, don’t miss Robin’s book giveaway. To enter, simply post a comment here before May 11, 2015.

7 thoughts on “No one mold to break

    1. Laura Hile Post author

      I have had to stop going to thrift stores because I’ll come home with books. I have too much stuff for such a small house. Not a hoarder yet, but I could be.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Robin Helm

    I love books, too, though I’ve given away all but 50 or so of my favorites. Ha! I’m afraid my smart phone kindle app has spoiled me. I want to have my books with me all the time.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      Kindle is perfect for plot-driven books, I agree. It’s too convenient to see a book, want it, and voila, it appears on my Kindle. What to get Mom for her birthday? Easy, an Amazon card.

      You must have better eyes (or stronger glasses) to be able to read on your smart phone.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    As I grow older I see that I am not a “bookie.” I like books. Except when they require dusting or packing and hauling to a new place. I think bookcases are great to fill wall space. I enjoy reading a great deal, especially when insomnia strikes.

    However, I am not romantic about them. Little Women was my first brush with death and brought tears when Beth died. Wentworth was the first character that compelled me try and write fiction. I’ve experienced many emotions, traumas, and adventures through reading. Stories capture me, books are merely the method of transmission.

    In the e-book vs. paper and ink wars, I am Switzerland. I just want the info, nothing more.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

