Throwback Thursday … The Age of the Curl

GEORGIA_20000_med

Last week I put up a picture from 2000 of Laura Hile, Pamela Aidan and myself. Laura’s perm got the most comments.

 

 

Here’s one from the way, way back machineBill_Sue_Will_8604232015_0001 of me in 1986 with the last vestiges of a perm. We were stone cold broke then and I had to depend on birthday money to buy the chemicals and a sister-in-law willing to  roll the perm rods for me.

Was I ever really that young? I guess pictures don’t lie. Much.

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday … The Age of the Curl

  1. connieweis

    Oh Girlfriend, I feel your pain. I was born in ’46 and for years and years straight hair was just not “in”. My mom gave me home perms all those years…but would you believe it, I still get perms today. So glad they do not stink as bad today. I just can’t manage coarse/straight/thick gray hair without some help. Love your pictures and the JAFF authors. All of you have brought such joy to my retirement. I have time to read again. Bring it on ladies….

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thank you, connieweis. I was lamenting my own stick-straight hair the other day and telling my daughter I should bit the bullet and get a perm. She looked at me like I was nuts. Maybe I am, but I like having some body, jabbing a comb in my hair, and heading out.

      Thank you also for the kind words about our part of the writing world. As the picture to the right shows, we’re working overtime to keep up with production demands.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Those of us in the Stick-Straight Hair Club cannot imagine why anyone with curly hair would straighten it. Everybody hates their own hair, I guess. These days I’m glad I still have some.

        Like

        Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    I love it. Very Farrah Fawcett. I had the same ‘do at the time. At least we didn’t tease ours straight up like girls in the early part of the 2000’s did. That was scary. I was editing yearbooks, and I couldn’t get all their hair in the pictures. Their faces weren’t centered vertically because of it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Oh, how we loved Farrah’s hair. I suspect it was augmented by extensions, but what did we know of those? I have a lot of hair, but it is fine. A perm does wonders—the first perm. After that, it’s fry, baby, fry.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

