My Hair Raising Life

Laura and Sue have been posting pictures of their hairstyles in their younger days, so I decided to join the party. It was too diffcult to choose just one ridiculous picture, so I decided to entertain you with my life history in hair.
baby I was born in 1954. By the time I was eighteen months old, mother was putting my hair in pincurls for church. That hurt!
senior

 

 

 

 

 

 

The late ’60s and early ’70s were much kinder. Long, straight hair was “in,” and I had – you guessed it – long, straight hair. That’s my high school graduation picture.
wedding

For my wedding in 1976, I didn’t do anything special. I had cut my hair to lose a bad perm, and I just let it grow straight to my shoulders. I did have the “Farrah Fawcett wings” for bangs.
oldies1
Marriage and college graduation called for a haircut. I was just too busy to mess with it.
Robin Mandy

By the time Mandy was born in 1981, I had adopted a pageboy for my twenties.
Oldies
20s
30s

 

Curly hair was required for my thirties, so I went back to perms.

40s
50s

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy days! Perms were out by the time I hit my forties. I gladly went back to straight hair.  For my fifties, I cut my hair very short. Those are my daughters. We were dressed up for a dinner cruise.

 

Gayle

And just because I can, I’m posting Gayle’s college graduation picture. What a beauty! I never had the patience to do my hair in the Mary Tyler Moore Flip. My hair was so fine, it just fell out anyway.

2 thoughts on “My Hair Raising Life

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks so much! I think my motto for my life has become, “Simplify, simplify.” Sounds a little like Thoreau, though I won’t be squatting by any ponds.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

