To Be Young Again

My husband power-washed our front porch Saturday, and I plan to paint it this week. The back porch is badly in need of new paint as well.

I’d also like to hire someone to paint my kitchen cabinets, two bathrooms, and my office.

Isn’t it interesting that a little paint can cover so many flaws and make a porch or a room look new again – clean and fresh?

I wish it were as easy to cover my own personal physical imperfections and flaws. I think there’s a book in there somewhere.

Robin & Melly

Lately, I’ve been wishing I could be young again. Is that just part of passing sixty and seeing it in the rear view mirror? I think of how lovely it would be to move easily, without pain; to have back my photographic memory; to have unlimited energy; to see in minute detail; to wear fashionable shoes; to hear perfectly; to look in the mirror and be somewhat pleased with what is looking back at me. Wouldn’t it be nice to skip the medicines in the morning and at night? I would love for my girls to be children again.

I know how shallow that all sounds.

Therein lies the book. What would you trade for youth?

4 thoughts on “To Be Young Again

  1. Susan Kaye

    I take youth if it were offered to me, but trade something I have now? Nothing. I know that makes me sound like a prig, but I just don’t see the benefit. The things I have learned with age are too valuable to trade for my younger body and greater energy.

    I would love to have the obsessive drive for writing I used to have. But still, I can’t think of what I’d trade.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    You don’t sound like a prig. I would like to be young again, but only if I could retain my memories and knowledge. The question is what would I sacrifice? I don’t want to sacrifice anything for it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Anji

    Speaking as someone who will be reaching that big 60 milestone in a few days, I can honestly say that I wouldn’t trade in anything for a spot more youth. When I think back to what I’ve experienced and learned over the years, I wouldn’t want to give any of it up, the bad times as well as the good. Actually, thinking about it, there ARE a couple of bad times I could easily do without but won’t bore you with the details, but only a couple.

    P.S. We just redecorated our front porch, too. As you say, it’s amazing what a lick of paint will do to brighten things up.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Ha! Too bad I can’t just paint myself. Congrats on freshening up that porch. Mine is coming along nicely, too. Thanks for stopping by, Anji.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

