Having a Coke with you . . .

Laura's Coke

Here you see Laura’s Diet Coke. I consider it to be either the seed of a great idea or an epic fail.

I saw this Coke on a recent trip to Target, and I looked for the names of the other JSI ladies because I thought it would be wonderful to have Cokes with our names having fun over the summer. We live a continent apart, and Gayle and I have never met Laura, Sue, or Barbara. We met Pamela at the Decatur Book Festival a couple of years ago. Our Cokes could sit on the porch, chatting and exchanging ideas. They could go to the beach and bask in the sun. They could ride in my daughter’s Corvette, scarves blowing in the wind, carefree and howling with laughter.

But the only one I saw was Laura, so she sits in my kitchen, watching the frenetic activities of my household and waiting for her compadres.

Hold on, Laura. I haven’t given up yet. Somewhere out there are Cokes with Gayle, Robin, Sue, Pamela, and Barbara on them, and I will keep trying to find them.

Friends are like that. We don’t give up on each other. Amigas stick together.

7 thoughts on “Having a Coke with you . . .

  1. Susan Kaye

    How thoughtful, Robin. The only Cokes-with-names I ever see are names like Brittany and Trevor. Nothing so mundane as Sue or Susan. With my luck I WILL find a Suzie. (Which I absolutely loath.)

    From here out, I will keep my eyes peeled for our names. You never know, Oregon may be the repository for solid, sensible names.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’ll be sure to leave that Suzie on the shelf if I find it. No loathsome nicknames will be allowed at our party.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        Thanks, Robin. Suzie was the name I was teased with at school. Then there’s, “Wake up, little Suzie,” by the Everly Brothers. And, there was the science teacher in the seventh grade who took pleasure in combining Suzie with my last name and coming up with a vulgar phrasing. I have bad history with that name.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Being named Robin was no picnic either. “Rockin’ Robin,” Robin Redbreast (adjusted to fit my physical inadequacy in that department), and Batman and Robin were my nemeses. “Hey, Robin! Where’s Batman?” Clever, huh?

          Like

          Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      There is a real possibility that Gayle and I may visit northern California next summer if my daughter and her husband are still there. We could meet you, Susan, and Laura about halfway. I think it would be a great deal of fun.

      I have found several more of our names. Expect future posts on the Cokes.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

