I Don’t Like Spiders and Snakes

Jim_Stafford We may be stuck in a 70s time warp here at JSI. Last week Laura Hile quoted from The Carpenters’ “We’ve Only Just Begun” writing about Robin Helm’s daughter’s wedding. This week, I’ll be going with the top ten hit, “Spiders and Snakes” by Jim Stafford. Because moving from the sublime to the ridiculous is a specialty of mine.

I live in Oregon and we’ve been having a heat wave. I’m not asking for sympathy. We haven’t had a hot summer since 2012 so we are due. On Tuesday, I got up while it was still dark so I could open all the doors and windows, flush out the warm air left over from Monday–who doesn’t want to flush away Mondays?–trapping as much cool air inside before battening down the hatches. My mission was accomplished by eight so I decided to take a shower while everyone was still asleep. (Everyone in the house is on swing shift and everyone but me can sleep until ten or so.)

I gathered my clothes, turned the shower on, and got in. I caught a glimpse of something in the corner of the shower moving.

It’s not odd to have bugs in the tub. This is a rickety farmhouse and wildlife, inside and out is part of the deal. But I draw the line at showering with them.

I got close enough to see what was strolling through and it was a katydid.

*SHIVER*

Graphic from: fcps.edu

Graphic from: fcps.edu

There is actually a window in the shower so I am pretty skilled at shufflin’ crits out. But this one was big. BIG. There was no choice. Time to hunt up some tools.

I ended up covering Katy with a large yogurt container my granddaughter plays with in the tub and sliding a piece of construction paper underneath–also my grandgirl’s–to trap him/her inside.

Success in the first try. No small feat as my hands were wet and construction paper is not as tough as it used to be. Out the window he/she went.

Blessed solitude in the shower once more.

The 70s are gone, but they still seem to speak to the everyday. If you squint really hard.

Has a song ever encapsulated the mundane in your life? Does it ever feel as if a popular artist is playing the background music of your life? Or do you just want to spill about a quirky event and its tenuous tie to music? Let us know.

14 thoughts on “I Don’t Like Spiders and Snakes

  1. Robin Helm

    My family breaks out into singing randomly on a regular basis, the same way we quote Jane Austen. We are one strange bunch. We play weird car games, too. One of them is “Name That Tune.” Sadly, we are very good at it.

    My girls don’t understand why their husbands don’t always get their references. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Rainy days, like in rain that makes noise on the roof. Around here we get more drizzly days than honest rain. We’d welcome some of that now. Good summer weather usually begins on July 5th. On July 4th we have, you guessed it, drizzle.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Susan Kaye Post author

          “Funny but it seems, I always wind up here (JSI) with you (readers),
          Nice to know somebody loves me, (at least tolerates me),
          Funny but it seems that it’s the only thing to do,
          Run and find the one who loves me.”

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        Fun to read these comments and realize I’m not the only weird one out there. The date of one of the groomsmen was named Elizabeth. I told her I’d remember her name easily because she had the name of one of my favorite heroines. Blank stare. I further explained, “Elizabeth Bennet?” Blank stare. I tried again. “Pride and Prejudice.” Blank stare. Dylan’s mom looked at the girl and said, “She’s a writer.” I could have added, “And I read. Books.”

        A college grad who’s never heard of Pride and Prejudice must have slept through many years of English lit classes in high school and college.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Susan Kaye Post author

          Even in the Austen community, there is a significant number who have never read P&P, much less the other novels. Any knowledge is based on whether Lizzie is thin as a rail and Mr. Bennet looks like a grinning mule, or Darcy went on to be the king of England.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Robin Helm

            The trouble is that people watch movies or read variations of the books, and they think they know what Austen wrote. All of the movies add and take away from Austen, and since we’ve all written Austen variations, we know that authors change the stories while keeping parts of the original. I also try to make my characters true to her originals, but that’s up for debate.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

